Consouling Sounds
rating icon 8 / 10

Track listing:

01. illusory
02. arrival
03. cathedral
04. flight
05. into the arms of sleep
06. nourish
07. man of hate

It would be a gross understatement to say that Jarboe has simply been prolific. While she remains mostly known as a former member of the legendary act SWANS, the tremendously talented experimental vocalist and musician has released over 30 solo albums. She has also been involved with numerous collaborative efforts including recordings with the likes of A PERFECT CIRCLE, PUSCIFER, NEUROSIS, JESU, PHILIP H. ANSELMO, CATTLE DECAPITATION, FATHER MURPHY and A STORM OF LIGHT. The longtime innovator has returned at the onset of the new decade with "Illusory", an album that finds the seasoned musician performing with the vitality and enthusiasm of a bright-eyed and bushy-tailed new artist.

"Illusory" is ambient yet concise with a sense of purpose, free flowing yet focused with a sense of direction that encompasses qualities that would appeal to music fans who appreciate more traditionally structured music. It is avant-garde music that isn't dumbed down but offers a highly accessible appeal. What remains consistent with Jarboe is her inherent, trademark vocals. They are just as haunting, surreal and ethereal as ever. She negotiates the spaces between the notes more than she sings on "Illusory", her 33rd (!!!) solo album.

The dreamlike cover art is a fitting visual entry point leading toward the sound within "Illusory". Jarboe describes it as a Buddhist perspective regarding the perception, or the illusion, of the self and of reality. The album is indeed sublime. Yet the delivery and fabric simultaneously connect with listeners on a raw, visceral level starting off with the opening, title track. Jarboe's soothing voice rests atop a foundation of pretty piano and mellotron parts that methodically stumble along at an intentionally off-kilter pace.

Elsewhere, "cathedral" entails a hidden beauty that breaks through the predominantly bleak and ominous core of the track's memorable melody. This track flows naturally into the cavernous, evil and beautiful melodies of "flight". The release feels like a voyage through the grey area that exists between our real lives and our dreams. The abstract expression that is "Illusory" is rounded out by the elegant and ethereal track "man of hate", an ode to a dark Elizabethan play.

"Illusory" reveals a discomforting kind of dissonance that's just as beautiful and captivating as it is unsettling. The album represents the illusory and nebulous region that exists between the abstract dreamworld and the real world. The album isn't conventionally heavy. However, it certainly is sonically gargantuan in an atypical sense, and overwhelmingly so on an emotional level. The new decade finds Jarboe continuing to represent the cutting edge of experimental heavy music. This is the next level.

Author: Jay H. Gorania
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).