Cobra The Impaler

Colossal Gods

rating icon 8 / 10

Track listing:

01. Colossal Gods
02. Blood Eye
03. Tempest Rising
04. Spirit Of Lyssa
05. Scorched Earth
06. Spawn Of The Forgotten
07. Demigods
08. Mountains

It may not be instantly obvious what a "grand electric skull" is, but by the end of the opening track on COBRA THE IMPALER's debut album, most discerning listeners will definitely want one. This Belgian mob have the perfect post-millennial metal sound: thunderous, melodic and proudly progressive, it bears a strong enough resemblance to modern benchmarks (MASTODON in particular) to grab the attention of the metalhead majority, but with a bold identity of its own that points to a bright and fascinating future.

There is a strong whiff of mid-'90s, grunge-influenced metal lurking in these songs, and it adds to a diverse overall sound that marks COBRA THE IMPALER out as gentle eccentrics. With vocal harmonies that hit a smart midpoint between the haziness of TORCHE and the crisp, soulful finesse of KING'S X, this band have the confidence to thrust melodies into the foreground; and despite favoring the intricate over the straightforward, these songs are often disarmingly catchy as a result.

"Colossal Gods" itself is a shrewd entry point that showcases COBRA THE IMPALER's pigeonhole-defying tendencies across five minutes of sandblasted and malformed stoner rock. "Blood Eye" is a feast of elegant transitions, from soaring vocal hooks and taut metal riffing, to windswept and wistful post-metal zone-out. "Spirit Of Lyssa" begins like a doped-out salute to IRON MAIDEN's "Flash of the Blade", before mutating into a juddering blend of post-GOJIRA crunch and VOIVOD-ian psych; "Scorched Earth" wallows in doomy squalor, armed with a gloriously morbid chorus and shades of PSYCHOTIC WALTZ's lysergic prog-metal blueprint. Elsewhere, "Spawn Of The Forgotten" blends thrash-powered aggro with stately melodic melancholy, and "Demigods" is simply a very fine heavy metal song with a perverse streak a mile wide. Even more structurally familiar cuts like "Tempest Rising" and tastefully bleak closer "Mountains" crackle with creative sharpness and swagger.

Almost comically overburdened with great riffs and powerhouse vocal performances, "Colossal Gods" is a classy and characterful debut. The artwork is impressively bonkers, too.

Author: Dom Lawson
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).