Dealing With Demons Vol. II

rating icon 8 / 10

Track listing:

01. I Have No Pity
02. Mantra
03. Nothing Lasts Forever
04. Summoning
05. Through The Depths
06. Bloodbath
07. It's A Hard Truth
08. If Blood Is Life
09. This Relationship, Broken

Living proof that you can't keep a good man down, Dez Fafara has had a pretty rough ride in recent times. One minute, DEVILDRIVER were finishing work on their ninth studio album, "Dealing with Demons Vol. I" and making excited noises about the imminent arrival of a swift follow-up, cut from the same bloody cloth, and the next, the entire world was kicked in the nuts by Covid 19 and nobody, not even the hardest-working band in metal, was spared the gig-free aftermath. Much more importantly, Dez nearly succumbed to the accursed virus himself, and "Dealing With Demons Vol. II" arrives much later than originally planned as a result. Once again showcasing DEVILDRIVER's new(ish) lineup, the band's tenth full-length completes 2019's body of work. It also confirms that Dez is back with a bloody vengeance.

Although most of these songs were never intended as acts of defiance in the face of death, "Dealing With Demons Vol. II" certainly comes across that way. Where the first "Dealing With Demons" explored gothic shadows and a strong sense of dark melody, the follow-up is awash with vitriol and venom. DEVILDRIVER's trademark groove metal attack has always been a malleable thing, and thus songs like opener "I Have No Pity" and the mercilessly direct, mutant melo-death "Mantra" hit all the right marks, but with newfound vigor. In fact, "Mantra" is an instant classic, not least due to Dez's impassioned vocal, but also because it so skillfully renews his band's sound for the future. And while the means may be different — this record favors concrete over color, and rage over reflection — the same spirit of curiosity that made "…Vol. I" so enjoyable is alive and kicking here, too. "Nothing Lasts Forever" proves the point. It's mid-paced, melancholy and melodic, but imbued with the same seething, scrap-for-your-life sensibilities that inform DEVILDRIVER's most brutal moments. Similarly, "Summoning" demonstrates subtlety in abundance, but the song's unwavering core is a single, hypnotic, screwdriver riff that reeks of nefarious intent.

When it comes to the pummeling, heavy shit that fans of this band demand, "Dealing with Demons Vol. II" is well-stocked and ready to cause damage. "Through The Depths" is an absolute cyclone, with a pin-sharp chorus and the surging demeanor of a symphonic metal showstopper. As you would hope from its title, "Bloodbath" is DEVILDRIVER at their darkest, but where earlier lineups would have gone for the throat and stayed there, this latest incarnation of the band is as much about quiet, knowing power as it is about flagrant brutality. Another shrewd side-step into gothic territory, "Bloodbath" uses blackened melodies as a more subtle way to kill. Next, "It's A Hard Truth" blurs the lines between stirring songcraft and jagged-edge, post-punk weirdness. Closer "This Relationship, Broken" provides a final clearing of the emotional decks, with Dez in fine, feral voice, and every score settled with a punishing, kick-driven riff.

This would already be a triumphant return without the presence of the best DEVILDRIVER song in a decade or more. But from its darkly poetic lyrics (surely the finest and most personal Dez has ever penned) to its gleefully atypical groove and mid-song detour into scathing thrash, "If Blood Is Life" feels like a landmark moment in this band's now two-decade history. "Curse this shit, it's unforgiving!" Dez roars, before concluding that "If blood is life, then I'm living!". Meanwhile, his loyal comrades are whipping up a storm of imperious, melodic savagery around him. It's a sublime moment and an unmissable statement of renewed intent.

This is another strong showing from one of modern metal's greatest survivors, and the perfect companion to "Dealing With Demons Vol. I". On this evidence, you still can't stop the unstoppable. Welcome back, hero.

Author: Dom Lawson
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).