Death by Fire

Nuclear Blast
rating icon 7.5 / 10

Track listing:

01. Bells of Hades
02. Death Rides This Night
03. Run for Your Life
04. Mesmerized By Fire
05. Take Me Out of This Nightmare
06. Crystal Suite
07. Sacrificed
08. Silent Hour / The Conjugation
09. Satan

One of the break-out acts featured on Earache Records' 2009 retro-metal sampler, "Heavy Metal Killers", Sweden's ENFORCER has successfully scurried up the ladder of heavy metal labels since: from Heavy Artillery Records - home to their first LP, 2008's "Into the Night" ? to the selfsame Earache for 2010's sophomore "Diamonds", and now partnering with mighty Nuclear Blast for 2013's "Death by Fire".

All the while, and thanks to this upward trajectory, the band has obviously had little reason to tinker with their vintage Euro-metal sound: a blistering, yet insistently melodic blend of post-NWOBHM adrenalin teetering on, but not quite falling over the brink of thrash-fueled, cheese-laden power metal - otherwise known as good old fashioned speed metal, and precisely what's in store this third time around.

So the challenge, as always, lies in the band's ability to rework and recycle ingredients older, in some instances, than themselves, into memorable songs fans of their generation can enjoy - preferably without having to endure endless "Back in my day?" speeches from the bitter old man involving mysterious has-beens called AGENT STEEL or ACCEPT?who the hell names their band ACCEPT, anyway?

In any case, with as little songwriting wiggle room as ENFORCER give themselves (what they lack in original ideas often being compensated by their clinical precision, fast beyond the mortal powers of the older generation),one still feels that the tunes on "Death by Fire" by and large possess far more personality and staying power than those on the sophomore "Diamonds".

At least to begin with, though, it's sheer, wanton speed carrying the album's first few, razor-riffed bumblebees headlong into the listener's memory receptors (highlighted by opening tandem "Bells of Hades" and "Death Rides this Night"); and not until fifth song, "Take Me Out of this Nightmare", does a sing-a-long chorus steal the spotlight from this instrumental onslaught.

Come the album's second half, ENFORCER display a little more balance and imagination, by crafting a truly unprecedented, dynamically varied metallic epic in "Silent Hour/The Conjugation", where riff supplants riff in seemingly endless succession, conclusively proving they have something more to offer than boundless energy.

Yes, there are still instances in which ENFORCER shamelessly cribs from its influences: the instrumental "Crystal Suite", for one, plucks its busy bass line and interweaving guitar parts straight out of IRON MAIDEN's "Genghis Khan", then quotes METALLICA's "Creeping Death" bridge for good measure; final cut, "Satan", meanwhile, is 100% composed atop the "Phantom Lord" framework, we shit you not!

But even them the band is being openly worshipful and entertaining about it, so this should only upset listeners for whom this kind of familiarity breeds instant contempt?and those probably stayed away from this album from the get-go, let's be honest.

So there you have it: ENFORCER remain content to carry on working within their familiar wheelhouse, but appear to be improving their songwriting craft with each LP, thereby justifying their professional ascension. Heck, at this rate, they may one day be as good as ACCEPT.

  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).