Died Laughing

rating icon 9 / 10

Track listing:

01. Honeycomb
02. Razzberry Mockery
03. Selfish
04. New York City
05. Home
06. Cobain (Rainbow Deadhead)
07. Neurotic
08. Dew Drop Magic
09. Just Be
10. Lollipop
11. Upsy Daisy
12. Brandy Duval

When vocalist Keith Caputo left LIFE OF AGONY in 1997, many of us were at a loss to explain the logic in his exiting what was probably one of the most original hard music acts of the late '90s. Now that the man's debut solo offering is upon us, however, the reasons behind his departure have started to make a lot more sense. A decidedly more personal and far less guitar-heavy offering than anything Keith had done with his previous band, Died Laughing is an opportunity for the singer to bare his soul through music, and he has appropriately chosen to accomplish this in a much more intimate way, without loud guitars or pounding drums diluting his message.


In musical terms, LIFE OF AGONY fans will find little here in common with Keith's past efforts, a fact that only serves to validate his decision to embark on a solo career. A self-proclaimed "ballad king", Caputo offers up 12 songs that range in style from the up-beat "Honeycomb" to the depressingly sad "Brandy Duval" (an ode to Keith's late mother, who passed away from a heroin overdose),all of them showcasing the singer's dramatically improved vocals, which have never sounded as soulful or passionate as they do here.


Much like Chris Cornell's Euphoria Morning (an album that Died Laughing is stylistically most similar to),Keith Caputo's first solo release constitutes a brilliantly dark collection of infectiously memorable tunes that will remain with you long after you've finished listening to this CD.

  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).