Driven Rise

rating icon 8 / 10

Track listing:

01. Driven Rise
02. They Don't Know
03. Grenade and Pin
04. Sidewinder
05. Prime Moment
06. Positronic
07. Davos
08. Melisandre
09. You're My Waste of Time
10. Beg for Power

Bob Pantanella is one busy dude, dividing his time between MONSTER MAGNET, THE ATOMIC BITCHWAX, CYCLE OF PAIN and, of course, RIOTGOD, which he formed in 2007 with ex-bassist Jim Baglino. It helps Pantanella's cause to have guitarist Garrett Sweeny, recent arrival to MONSTER MAGNET, amongst his RIOTGOD arsenal along with vocalist Mark Sunshine and current bassist Erik Boe (also of BLACK REIGN),as his Jersey-based power pack delivers their third album, "Driven Rise".

RIOTGOD considers themselves a classic-styled hard rock band, "period" (to quote the band directly) with many of their fans readily sticking them with a stoner tag. LED ZEPPELIN and to lesser effects, LYNYRD SKYNYRD, play their hands in igniting RIOTGOD's distortion bombs, while Nineties American rock has also lent its subtleties. The latter all but carries "Driven Rise" from start-to-finish.

The temptation to liken "Driven Rise" to Layne Staley-era ALICE IN CHAINS will be hard to resist in many spots, even if there are gradual change-ups toward MONSTER MAGNET psych flares ("Prime Moment" and the final third of "Beg for Power") and the punk-driven ear blast of "Positronic" as the album progresses.

A lot of the ALICE IN CHAINS illusion comes from Mark Sunshine, who doesn't consciously pull Staley impersonations, but he coaxes impressions nonetheless. Accordingly, the song structures are leaned more toward nineties hard rock and grunge, i.e. "They Don't Know", "Melisandre", "Grenade and Pin", "Davos" and the title track. The songs are heavy enough to get a steady headbob to, if not an actual bang. Sunshine is an appealing vocalist who worms along with the mid-tempo grind of the riffs that carry the album, while Bob Pantanella escorts a reliable thud all the way through.

The curveball of the album comes with the acoustic-driven "You're My Waste of Time", akin to an Eighties power ballad that hits a few dark corners. The chords of the choruses are not what you're expecting and they grace the song instead of letting it turn schmaltzy, particularly once the electric guitars hop aboard and keep the tone emotive. The elongated guitar solo from Garrett Sweeney here is one the album's highlights.

"Driven Rise" isn't quite as classic-minded as RIOTGOD's previous works outside of the AEROSMITH and Ted Nugent-clubbed "Beg for Power", which mingles with morose ALICE IN CHAINS plunges on the edges of the verse lines and the choruses. "Davos" and other song spots are exquisitely tailored, but most of "Driven Rise" plays a heavy lean on the nineties, which is classic only if you consider grunge classic at this point.

Author: Ray Van Horn, Jr.
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).