Better Noise
rating icon 7.5 / 10

Track listing:

01. F8
02. Inside Out
03. Living The Dream
04. A Little Bit Off
05. Bottom Of The Top
06. To Be Alone
07. Mother May I (Tic Toc)
08. Darkness Settles In
09. This Is War
10. Leave It All Behind
11. Scar Tissue
12. Brighter Side Of Grey

Nothing engenders vitriol and scorn quite like success. By this point, everybody has pretty much decided whether they like FIVE FINGER DEATH PUNCH or not. One of the virtues of having such a recognizable sound is that there isn't much scope for sitting on the fence here: whether you regard the Las Vegas arena regulars as one of modern metal's ultimate good-time bands, or a seemingly indestructible throwback to the knuckleheaded horrors of early '00s "wrestling metal", it's difficult to listen to any of 5FDP's music to date without picking a side. And, as you might expect, "F8" is no different. But what the band's detractors continue to ignore is that this juggernaut is not stopping any time soon, and after a few years of interpersonal turmoil and vocalist Ivan Moody's very public fall and rise, the spotlight shining on album number eight is brighter than ever.

Of course, if you think FIVE FINGER DEATH PUNCH suck then "F8" is best avoided. There are cosmetic changes here and there — it's certainly their heaviest album to date and feels more consciously metal than any previous efforts, most notably in terms of guitar tone and ensemble muscle. But as you start involuntarily punching the air during opener "Inside Out", it's the sheer DEATH PUNCH-ness of the whole thing that seals the deal. After 15 years of fairly relentless hard slog, they know exactly what they are and why they keep connecting with people. Overanalyzing these big, bold and often endearingly yobbish heavy metal sing-alongs is a waste of time: ultimately, the melodies are infectious, the choruses are uniformly enormous, the riffs are simple but lethally effective and Moody, clearly back on supreme form throughout, sells even his most unsubtle and clunky lyrics with sheer force of personality. It doesn't all hit the target. "A Little Bit Off" tries too hard to be an edgy pop song and should have never made the cut. But when they click into radio-friendly beast mode, with straightforwardly slamming grooves propelling those giant hooks along, FIVE FINGER DEATH PUNCH still sound exactly like the kind of cocky bastards that should be filling stadiums.

"Bottom Of The Top" is half BIOHAZARD stomp, half campfire reverie, with Moody switching from insouciant croon to scabrous roar with complete ease; "Mother May I (Tic Toc)" is a snarling, lurching, riff-driven diatribe with some gloriously woozy vocal harmonies; gnarly thrasher "This Is War" sounds exactly like you would expect a FIVE FINGER DEATH PUNCH song called "This Is War" to sound like, replete with generous helpings of vein-popping profanity. In contrast, "Darkness Settles In" and "Brighter Side Of Grey" are the obligatory showcases for Moody's genuinely world-class voice and angst-ridden charisma: the former is a sure-fire moment for every smartphone in the house to light up and twinkle, while the latter is simply one of the prettiest songs 5FDP have released to date.

It's not entirely clear why anyone needs to cram 15 songs onto a metal album at this point in commercial music's development, but thanks to the snappiness of their enduring blueprint, FIVE FINGER DEATH PUNCH never let any one idea outstay its welcome. For most of its duration, "F8" is another polished but powerful master class in how to write heavy metal songs that the whole world can sing. Whether you actually want to join in or not is up to you, but only a maniac would bet against another wildly successful DEATH PUNCH campaign. It was broke, they fixed it and here it goes again. Blam.

Author: Dom Lawson
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).