Imaginations From The Other Side – 25th Anniversary Edition

Nuclear Blast
rating icon 9 / 10

Track listing:

01. Imaginations from the Other Side (Live)
02. I'm Alive (Live)
03. A Past and Future Secret (Live)
04. The Script for My Requiem (Live)
05. Mordred's Song (Live)
06. Born in a Mourning Hall (Live)
07. Bright Eyes (Live)
08. Another Holy War (Live)
09. And The Story Ends (Live)

10. Imaginations from the Other Side (2012 Remix & Remaster)
11. I'm Alive (2012 Remix & Remaster)
12. A Past and Future Secret (2012 Remix & Remaster)
13. The Script for My Requiem (2012 Remix & Remaster)
14. Mordred's Song (2012 Remix & Remaster)
15. Born in a Mourning Hall (2012 Remix & Remaster)
16. Bright Eyes (2012 Remix & Remaster)
17. Another Holy War (2012 Remix & Remaster)
18. And The Story Ends (2012 Remix & Remaster)

19. Imaginations from the Other Side (Demo)
20. I'm Alive (Instrumental)
21. A Past and Future Secret (Instrumental)
22. The Script for My Requiem (Instrumental)
23. Mordred's Song (Instrumental)
24. Born in a Mourning Hall (Instrumental)
25. Bright Eyes (Instrumental)
26. Another Holy War (Instrumental)
27. And The Story Ends (Instrumental)
28. Imaginations from the Other Side (Instrumental)
29. I'm Alive (Demo)
30. A Past and Future Secret (Demo)
31. The Script for My Requiem (Demo)
32. A Past and Future Secret (Orchestral Version)

There may be people out there who don't regard BLIND GUARDIAN's "Imaginations From The Other Side" as a classic heavy metal record, but those people are wrong and deserve to be publicly scorned for their foolishness. "Imaginations…" remains a lot of fans' favorite album by the Germans, not least because it seemed to confidently define the band's sound at a point when melodic bombast and theatricality were, with mainstream rock and metal folk, about as popular as genital warts. Hansi Kürsch knew differently then, and 25 years later, this triple-disc celebration of a seminal masterpiece feels like vindication on a huge scale. BLIND GUARDIAN raced to the front of the pack when this was originally released in 1995, and they remain the undisputed champions of this stuff. Listening to this deluxe extravaganza's first disc, a complete performance of the album captured in Oberhausen, Germany, in 2016, the timeless nature of the material and the diehard ethos that has propelled Kürsch's crew forward for three decades are abundantly apparent. There's still plenty of fire in the band's collective belly, and they play these revered songs as if their lives depend on it, with their leader, as ever, in the finest of voices.

The second disc comprises the album itself, in its 2012 remixed and remastered form. Turbo-nerds will doubtless pore over the details and, in many cases, declare the original to be superior, but frankly the latter version sounds utterly incredible and noticeably more vital and vivid than that first draft. And of course, as many artists have pointed out over the years, the original version does still exist. You can have both. It's cool.

BLIND GUARDIAN are plainly catering for the true devotees here, however, because this lavish set's third disc is a definite obsessives-only affair. With instrumental versions of the whole album and a smattering of demos, it's aimed squarely at the BG completist. Weirdly, a terrific orchestral version of "A Past and Future Secret" is chucked in at the very end, seemingly as an afterthought. Meanwhile, the very notion of listening to a Kürsch-free BLIND GUARDIAN may seem preposterous, but if you have an ear for finer details, instrumental versions of "I'm Alive", "Mordred's Song" and the rest are subtly revealing and further evidence of this band's inherent classiness. But if it's primal heavy metal thrills you crave, a Blu-Ray boasting a film of the entire "Live in Oberhausen" set completes the picture, with the undeniably exhilarating sight of masters at work, in front of a psychotically enthusiastic crowd.

Not every re-packaged classic gets the treatment it deserves, but this is about as comprehensive and megafan-friendly as it gets. A lovingly crafted piece of highbrow heavy metal art, "Imaginations From The Other Side" hasn't aged a bit.

Author: Dom Lawson
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).