In Harmonia Universali

Century Media
rating icon 7.5 / 10

Track listing:

01. Nutrisco Et Extinguo
02. Mont Blanc Providence Crow
03. Christiania (E. Munch Commemoration)
04. Epicetetus & Irreversibility
05. Dionysify This Night Of Spring
06. Red Music Diabolos (Instrumental)
07. Buy My Sperm
08. Fraternité De La Grande Lumière
09. The Liberation Of Destiny
10. Sonnenuntergang Im Weltraum

SOLEFALD are one of those bands that can make a reviewers life testy and fairly time-consuming. For, if you wanted to get really anal about it, you could get through reams of paper trying to catalogue their every musical twist and turn per album. DARKTHRONE this band certainly are not.

If you've heard their previous three works, you'll already be well prepared for the high-art journey which vocalist/guitarist/bassist Cornelius Jakhelln and vocalist/keysman/drummer Lazare Nedland (also of BORKNAGAR) are more than willing to take you on. Granted, they originate from black metal circles, and there are still discernible elements of that particular strain of misanthropic aggression (see the very metal "Epictetus & Irreversibility"),but in the main they are perhaps best summed up as an extreme interpretation of '70s prog overlords YES. You won't find any camp jumpsuits and flying ships here, mind you — just dizzying arrangements and slightly baffling odes to seventeenth century artists and modernist theories.

When you consider that the lyrics across this album are sung in a total of four — count 'em — different languages, you can understand why some listeners might be put off by this, the parping saxophones, the mathematical mood swings and the lustily delivered vocals in parts. Indeed, there are moments during the pomp and circumstance when it surely becomes too twee for even the most open-minded (the vocal simpering during the cautionary anti-cloning tale of "Buy My Sperm").

But in a mire of screaming pocket Satanists, SOLEFALD offer a tangible break from the norm. That their desire for experimentation has previously led to threats from conservative black metal zealots must surely be recommendation enough for you to bend your brain around this album.

  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).