rating icon 5 / 10

Track listing:

01. Above It All
02. Better Late Than Never
03. Chew Me Up
04. So What
05. Left Behind
06. Bite The Bullet
07. Blinding Lights

Ask any professional resume reader, and they'll tell you that people often aren't as they appear on paper. In this case, however, they are. As SAINT ASONIA, Adam Gontier (vocals, guitar),  Mike Mushok (lead guitar),  Cale Gontier (bass) and Cody Watkins (drums) make music exactly as one would expect of former members of THREE DAYS GRACE, STAIND and ART OF DYING, respectively. Relying on simple, repeatable choruses and Gontier's alluring, scratchy voice, they run the hamster wheel of hard rock; mildly entertaining, but utterly predictable.

The "Introvert" EP consists of seven tracks that are difficult to distinguish from one another. "So What" stands out as the song with the most attitude, and "Left Behind" separates itself with a guitar solo. "Chew Me Up" speeds up the vocal rhythm for a few moments about halfway through for a small but welcome surprise.

The record isn't unpleasant by any means, but it's perfunctory; each song is just catchy enough to keep listening. "Introvert" will satisfy anyone with their feet firmly planted in the world of hard rock just fine, but those searching for novelty should look elsewhere.

Author: Taylor Markarian
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).