Century Media
rating icon 7 / 10

Track listing:

01. The Prophet
02. Livin' In A Maze
03. This World
04. Just Soldier (Stay Down)
05. Neverending Rest
06. Terzinato
07. Slave To The Night
08. Synthetic Paradise
09. Hand In Hand
10. When I Will Fly Far

It is said that true pioneers never get the recognition that they deserve. In LABYRINTH's case, they didn't exactly reinvent the traditional metal wheel when their personal milestone album "Return To Heaven Denied" surfaced in 1997. But with the help of fellow Italians RHAPSODY and a handful of others, they put the pizzazz back into it — the opera. The drama. The glasshouse-troubling falsetto vocals. Or, if you care to ask RHAPSODY, the Hollywood.

For some reason which is hard to fathom, however, LABYRINTH have taken something of a critical lambasting since. Where as with a great percentage of the screechy nonsense masquerading as power metal (the sort of listening experience where you'd really rather be sticking chili peppers under your eyelids),LABYRINTH haven't really put a foot wrong. This self-titled third album, though no great revelation, continues to demonstrate that they are a force to be reckoned with.

As always, the mark of a credible power metal act is the strength of its singer. Roberto "Tyrant" Tiranti, who featured on "Return…", is back with his typical soaring larynx, blowing his range wide open on galloping opener "The Prophet", then pulling it back accordingly at the other end of the album as "When I Fly Far" puts things to bed with a piano-driven lilt.

Somewhere in the middle of these two songs, however, Tiranti can do little to bolster the few pieces that labor and drag. Take "Neverending Rest" — another piece that peters out into acoustic melancholia, but like its unfortunate title, becomes quite tiring as it meanders aimlessly. Of the heavier songs, the very ordinary "Synthetic Paradise" is simply not a patch on the racy and varied "Just Soldier (Stay Down)".

On the whole, the skill and confidence of a band like LABYRINTH again shines through. But something a bit extra-special may be needed to ward off the hordes of pretenders to the power metal crown. [Download the track "The Prophet"here]

  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).