Century Media
rating icon 8 / 10

Track listing:

01. Heroes To Us
02. Burbot's Revenge
03. Cloned Insanity
04. The Third, The Magical
05. Bird Of Ill Omen
06. Doubtful About It All
07. Tordah
08. Man With Mystery
09. Moon Of My Nights

With a sense of timing as immaculate as that of an Olympic rower, Finland's KALMAH pitch an album into the mixer that, given the right push, could well leap onto the flamboyant coat-tails of the Scandinavian invasion that's currently sweeping both sides of Atlantic with ever increasing fervor.

Admittedly, revamping the blueprint marked out by the introspective harmonics of IN FLAMES, crossed with the heads-down riffage of CHILDREN OF BODOM, is something that KALMAH don't seem to be in any great hurry to do. But what they have succeeded in achieving with "Swampsong" is to fall comfortably into the slipstream of the aforementioned acts, where you can give "Swampsong" a spin and not feel as if you're being short-changed with some kind of inferior CHILDREN OF IN FLAMES-lite.

As instrumental histrionics go, KALMAH could never be considered backwards in going forwards. Great flourishes of keyboards blanket the showy "Cloned Insanity", which smacks of DARK TRANQUILLITY REALLY letting rip. "Bird Of Ill Omen" starts off as it means to go on with a finger-frazzling riff, before pitching everything in but the kitchen sink. Elsewhere, "Burbot's Revenge" unveils the albums sole blast beat, which doesn't overstay its welcome and avoids sticking out like the proverbial sore thumb.

The answer to whether "Swampsong" comes anywhere near being a classic, though, is an unhesitant "no." And that's purely because, by default, it's debatable whether any album within this new fangled wave of Scando-metal has scaled those dizzy heights as yet. That said, you can be comforted by the assurance that there are more great things to come from these flighty Finns. [Download the track "Heroes To Us"here]

  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).