Live in São Paulo

rating icon 4 / 10

Track listing:

01. Intro
02. Apes of God
03. Slave New World
04. Propaganda
05. Attitude
06. Choke
07. Inner Self/Beneath the Remains
08. Escape To the Void
09. Mindwar
10. Troops of Doom
11. Necromancer
12. Sepulnation
13. Refuse/Resist
14. Territory
15. Black Steel In the Hour of Chaos
16. Bullet the Blue Sky
17. Reza
18. Biotech Is Godzilla
19. Arise/Dead Embrionic Cells
20. Come Back Alive
21. Roots Bloody Roots

Four minutes into an intro encompassing the opening sounds to all their albums, including the comically belching vocal that kicked off their long-ago "Bestial Devastation" EP, plus the acoustic interlude from "Beneath the Remains", the point couldn't be more plainly stated. After twenty years, and nearly a decade with their current lineup, SEPULTURA has not only changed the face of metal, but remains a potent force in extreme music today. Though some fans may disagree, the intro seems to state the position that this is the same band that destroyed us with "Chaos A.D." and helped ignite the tribal side of nu-metal on "Roots".

No argument here — the song selection is impressive, with songs from every era of the band's storied history, and a whopping two discs to hold all the "hits." It's easy to forget sometimes how many important songs this band has had, until a document like this comes along and fans, especially those who jumped ship when Max Cavalera left to form SOULFLY in 1997, are reminded what anthems some of these tunes are.

Unfortunately, while the performance sounds suitably fiery, and the crowd seems into it, the mix on "Live in Sao Paolo" is, to put it mildly, for shit. It's muddy, muffled, the drums are loud to the point of distortion (a near-fatal flaw when you have a percussionist as busy as Igor Cavalera),and the CD as a whole sounds unmastered — throw it into your changer and hit "random," and you'll notice the volume is lower than the other discs in your mix. It sounds like a bootleg — whether this was the desired intent or not, it's gonna be a sore point for diehards shelling out twenty bucks for the double-disc set.

It's a goddamn shame, because SEPULTURA — as a whole, and particularly the Derrick Green-led incarnation — deserve better than this. This lineup has enough trouble getting past the hordes of Max stalwarts and proving its worth to the world, without being cut off at the knees by a shitty-sounding, fatiguing horsepill of a live record. Those fans already dedicated enough will get this, force their way through the leaden sound, and may even be able to get past it to enjoy the performances. But they deserve better too, for sticking by their band when the fair-weather fans bailed on them.

What happened here?

  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).