Schizo Deluxe

rating icon 8.5 / 10

Track listing:

01. Maximum Satan
02. Drive
03. Warbird
04. Plasma Zombies
05. Invite It
06. Like Father, Like Gun
07. Pride
08. Too Far Gone
09. Clare
10. Something Witchy
11. Weapon X (Bonus Track)
12. I Am in Command (Bonus Track)
13. Annihilator (Bonus Track)

Now THIS is what I like to hear from an ANNIHILATOR album! I generally avoid repeating the press-sheet hyperbole in reviews, but master shredder Jeff Waters was not kidding when he hyped "Schizo Deluxe" as follows: "This time around I went right for the throat: 100% thrash metal with an attitude. No ballads. No breaks in the insanity. 'Schizo Deluxe' is what a lot of metal fans have been screaming at me to give them this time: Brutal guitar riffs and solos, second-to-none musicianship, and back-to-the-roots thrash/heavy metal songwriting." It's all true, folks. Along with EXODUS' "Shovel Headed Kill Machine", ANNIHILATOR's 11th release is one of the best thrash albums you will hear in 2005. It is quickly becoming one of my favorites.

With the possible exception of a few melodic vocal sections from Dave Padden, there is none of the experimentation and style changeups you heard on "All for You". This one is about riff crunch, ripping solos, and tunes that stick in your head. Though most of what Padden does is no-nonsense thrash barking (with his often peculiar, sometimes Hetfield-like cadences),several tunes do feature his melodic side. The album can be broken down roughly into several song types. For starters, you get straight-ahead mid-paced groovers, such as "Maximum Satan" (basic, but catchy chorus),"Warbird", "Something Witchy" (including some melodic vocals),and "Like Father, Like Gun" (nasty groove and a memorable chorus). Then there are the maniacal speedsters (vocal patterns and Waters riff holocaust) like "Drive" (includes a brief bass solo) and "Invite It" (seriously oddball vocal lines). Though not quite as speedy, "Too Far Gone" is a tough thrasher with blazing licks. "Plasma Zombies" — a tune about the lazy, video game culture of America's youth — has a little of both (speed on the chorus, crunch groove on the verse). Along with "Plasma Zombies", "Pride" and "Clare" are two of the album highlights, though there are no lowlights. The former features the album's catchiest chorus (this one is still bouncing around in my cranium),while the latter boasts the album's most interesting arrangement. Furthermore, "Clare" has got a creepy "Alison Hell" vibe, as well as a strong hook and compelling tempo changes (there is even mention of "Alice," though I can't verify the connection, as I don't have the lyrics).

My understanding is that different regions get a different set of bonus tracks. My U.S. copy features "Weapon X", an outtake from the "All for You" sessions (and included on "The One" EP). An extra sweet bonus is the inclusion of classics "I Am in Command" (rehearsal version) and "Annihilator" (not the "King of the Kill" version).

Once again I'm happy as a pig in shit that quality thrash albums like "Schizo Deluxe" are being released in 2005. Whether you're a longtime ANNIHILATOR supporter or a fan of thrash in general, you can't go wrong with this album.

  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).