Long Stick Goes Boom: Live From Da House of Rust

Sony Music Entertainment
rating icon 8 / 10

Track listing:

01. Long Stick
02. Hallelujah Rock 'n Roll
03. Go Baby Go
04. American Woman
05. Tokyo Nights
06. Fire
07. Rock City/Better Than Sex/Dog Song
08. Screaming in the Night
09. Hellraiser
10. Bedside Radio
11. Easy Rocker
12. Heatstrokes
13. Live for the Action
14. Hoodoo Woman

KROKUS have taken their lumps and enjoyed their fair share of fan loyalties as well, but for all of the "AC/DC clone" tags that have followed them four decades strong, "Krok 'n Roll" perseveres, dig it or not.

At this point having played more than two thousand performances over five continents, KROKUS have no one to answer to but those who show up for their gigs. That being said, KROKUS celebrates forty years with a homecoming show where they began in Solothurn, Switzerland, culminating in their sweaty new live album, "Long Stick Goes Boom: Live From Da House of Rust".

There's no denying the AC/DC comparison at this point; we're well beyond it. What's upbeat news about "Long Stick Goes Boom: Live From Da House Rust" is Marc Storace, Fernando Von Arb, Mark Kohler and Chris Von Rohr haven't lost a lick of adrenaline. Just the first three songs in this enthusiastic set, "Long Stick Goes Boom", "Hallelujah Rock 'n Roll" and "Go Baby Go" are enough to get any rocker's blood pumping.

Considering the sizable catalog KROKUS has, their cover of THE GUESS WHO's "American Woman", which appeared on their "One Vice at a Time" album (along with "Long Stick Goes Boom") is slightly disappointing when "Midnite Maniac" would've been preferable, or at least their bitchin' cover of SWEET's "Ballroom Blitz". Nonetheless, KROKUS (including second guitarist Mandy Meyer and recent drummer Flavio Mezzodi) has their audience well within their grip four songs deep and nothing ever goes slack between players and guests.

Very much welcome on "Long Stick Goes Boom: Live From Da House Rust" is a hefty portion of early KROKUS material, gathered from 1980's "Metal Rendez-vous" (notable as Storace's KROKUS debut album) and 1981's "Hardware". You get "Fire", "Tokyo Nights", "Heatstrokes" and "Bedside Radio" plus "Rock City" and "Easy Rocker". "Tokyo Nights" and "Easy Rocker" are played with huge conviction and they serve as much a reminder as their calling card "Screaming in the Night" that KROKUS had more songwriting prowess than merely reinventing the Young brothers' wheels.

Otherwise, the set on this program is comprised of recent era songs like "Hoodoo Woman" from "Hoodoo", "Hallelujah Rock 'n Roll", "Go Baby Go", "Dog Song" and "Better Than Sex" from "Dirty Dynamite" and the title track from "Hellraiser".

Marc Storace, as ever, sounds like he's in full defiance of time and he's having a ball at this concert, revealed by his quick "Pinball Wizard" interplay in the midst of "Long Stick Goes Boom"'s jam portion. The guitar solos on "Fire", "Heatstrokes" and "Easy Rocker" are glorious and they garnish piercing whistles of approval from the crowd as much as Marc Storace summons by calling Switzerland "the rock capitol of the world." KROKUS sells their claim by delivering an energetic, honor-bound set on "Long Stick Goes Boom: Live From Da House Rust" that even their critics can cut some slack for.

Author: Ray Van Horn, Jr.
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).