Mind Freeze

Shadow Kingdom
rating icon 8 / 10

Track listing:

01. Light The Beacon
02. Hearts On Fire
03. Mind Freeze
04. Divide And Conquer
05. Saviors Of Man
06. Fight Or Flight
07. Have No Fear
08. On The Stage
09. Voyager

At a point in time where most bands take at least two years between albums, HAUNT's generous prolificity has been a real treat over the last couple of years. Not content with producing some of the best doom metal of recent years with BEASTMAKER, frontman and creative mastermind Trevor Church clearly had some extra fire in his belly when he launched HAUNT and their exuberant paeans to all things traditional in metal and hard rock. The result is that "Mind Freeze" is the band's third record in as many years and, somewhat against the odds you might think, their finest by some margin. Where a lot of other retro-minded metal bands get bogged down in surface details and painstaking reproduction of an era they never directly experienced, HAUNT have been all about the songs and the vibe from the very start. And while both 2017's "Burst Into Flame" and last year's "If Icarus Could Fly" were full of invigorating moments, "Mind Freeze" feels like the moment where Church's refined hybrid of THIN LIZZY, ANGEL WITCH, early MAIDEN and slightly later PRIEST takes on its own identity and simply becomes the HAUNT sound.

Opener "Light The Beacon" is a brilliantly punchy starting point, with opulent helpings of twin-lead harmonizing and a hook so huge it can probably be seen from space. "Divide And Conquer" owes a more significant debt to US power metal than it does to the expected British pioneers, and it's a subtle change of emphasis that suits HAUNT perfectly, adding to the breadth of their vision in the process. Similarly, "Saviors Of Man" and "Have No Fear" incorporates synths and a faint whiff of psychedelic intent, coming across like a strange blend of early HELLOWEEN and BLUE OYSTER CULT. In less capable or classy hands, it could all seem like a cynical pastiche, but as they proved on those first two albums, HAUNT are breathing new life into this stuff, not just propping up a corpse. Unlike many of their backward-looking contemporaries, the Fresno quartet are making vital, exciting records that more than deserve respect in the modern metal world. Yes, this is aimed squarely at fans of the old school, but heavy metal thunder rarely sounds more alive or more explosively in the moment than it does here. Let's hope Church and his comrades keep the work rate up; we can definitely handle a lot more records like this.

Author: Dom Lawson
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).