New Man, New Songs, Same Shit, Vol.2

rating icon 8 / 10

Track listing:

01. Black Hearse Cadillac (feat. Hank von Hell and Anders Odden)
02. Under The Spell (feat. Mary Goore)
03. All Hope Has Gone (feat. Blaze Bayley, Gary Holt, Jeff Mantas Dunn)
04. Witches Don't Fall in Love (feat. Kristoffer Rygg)
05. Losing My Blues (feat. Olve Abbath Eikemo, Frank The Baptist, Chris Holmes)
06. Coldest Day in Hell (feat. Ralf Gyllenhammar & Douglas Blair)
07. Year of the Snake (feat. David Vincent)
08. Blues & Cocaine (feat. Michale Graves)
09. Silver Halide Echoes (feat. Randy Blythe)
10. Goodbye (feat. Alissa White-Gluz, Devin Townsend)
11. Angel of Light (feat. Myrkur)
12. Got Your Tongue (feat. Chris Georgiadis)

A side project with legs, ME AND THAT MAN has plainly been a godsend (devilsend?) for Nergal: a self-evident workaholic who only ever sits down long enough to plot another artistic assault on the status quo. The BEHEMOTH mastermind's restless spirit must have been in danger of going stir crazy during the last two years, but there was always the piecing together of his third foray into dark folk, twisted Americana and semi-acoustic occultism to keep him occupied. Another generous dose of stripped down Nergal menace, with a frankly mind-bending roll call of underground luminaries and metal icons, "New Man, New Songs, Same Shit, Vol.2" delivers on its titular promise. It also improves considerably upon its enjoyably flawed predecessor, "New Man, New Songs, Same Shit, Vol.1"; which had plenty of great moments, but noticeably less hellish grit than 2017's "Songs of Love And Death" debut.

Darkness descends immediately this time around. "Black Hearse Cadillac" is a pitch-black, campfire mantra led by Hank Von Hell and featuring warped blues guitar from CADAVER's Anders Odden; it's grimly atmospheric and quietly magical. "Under The Spell" is a hell-for-leather "Rawhide"-from-Hell, with Mary Goore (a.k.a. GHOST's Tobias Forge) delivering an insouciant, mellifluous vocal that is all the more sinister for its restraint. Even more startling is "All Hope Has Gone", wherein three heavy metal legends (Blaze Bayley, EXODUS's Gary Holt and actualMantas) conspire to (a) make Nergal very happy, and (b) wring an ocean of glowering blues melodrama from the simplest of musical ideas. It's a barnstorming performance from all involved, but Bayley's vocal is a genuine masterclass. Likewise, ULVER's Kristoffer Rygg sounds utterly at home amid the scorched-plains strumming and acid-folk undertones of "Witches Don't Fall in Love": a macabre cautionary tale with sharp teeth.

If there is a downside to "New Man, New Songs, Same Shit, Vol.2", it's the questionable presence of self-proclaimed "proud boy" Michale Graves. The song he sings, "Blues & Cocaine", is genuinely great and brilliantly wonky, but the specter of his stupid opinions does loom in the background, presumably whispering something idiotic about vaccines or the democratic process.

Ultimately, this is an album full of little revelations, as familiar figures find themselves in a new and inspiring context. Some of the ideas coming to fruition here are truly inspired: who hasn't always wanted to hear Abbath singing some fucked up country music, as he does here on the rowdy "Losing My Blues", alongside FRANK THE BAPTIST's Frank Vollmannand bona fide heavy metal legend Chris Holmes. If you think you can hear Nergal grinning in the background, you are probably correct. Elsewhere, David Vincent and Nergal duet on the wistful and weird "Year of the Snake", with both sounding in their dust-battered element. On a similar tip, Randy Blythe sings the buffalo shit out of "Silver Halide Echoes", a gnarly, swamp blues stomp with a bad attitude. Most impressive of all, ARCH ENEMY's Alissa White-Gluz transforms into a delta blues voodoo diva on the somnambulant dub-country of "Goodbye", almost overshadowing the fact that Devin Townsend is also playing on the track. "Angel of Light", featuring Myrkur, keeps the otherworldly flag flying; a swaggering, night-sky waltz, awash with reverb and almost PINK FLOYD-like in its grandeur.

Another exuberant feast of devilry with an all-star cast, "New Songs, Same Man, Same Shit, Vol.2" is both more of the same and the best one yet. It also sounds like it was an enormous amount of fun to make. Even the devil needs to kick back and bash an acoustic every now and then, after all.

Author: Dom Lawson
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).