rating icon 9.5 / 10

Track listing:

01. Light of Transcendence
02. Travelers of Time
03. Black Widow's Web
04. Insania
05. The Bottom of My Soul
06. War Horns
07. Caveman
08. Magic Mirror
09. Always More
10. Silence Inside
11. Infinite Nothing

Brazilian prog metal masters ANGRA has maintained a solid if grossly unheralded presence for many years, leading to wonder how it hasn't been muttered in the same breath as the genre's elite, through the band is frequently compared to DREAM THEATER. This band is elite, however, and at times better, let the debate machine grind. Guitarist/keyboardist Kiko Loueiro brought ANGRA some overdue attention by going on hiatus to join, and in some ways, rescue MEGADETH on the monster "Dystopia" album. Former vocalist André Matos has hung in the higher profile AVANTASIA, while his replacement, Fabio Lione fronted RHAPSODY OF FIRE before coming over to ANGRA. Loueiro's stand-in, Marcelo Barbosa, gets his crack as the band engineers another ear-pleasing trip to anywhere but your private minute on its stellar ninth album, "Omni".

The brisk soar of "Light of Transcendence" sounds like and moves nearly as fast as DRAGONFORCE, but instead of feeling impossibly overwhelming even with so many parts moving at ludicrous speed—including its soaring symphonics—there's a tremendous balance to it all. "Light of Transcendence" feels lofty instead of weighty.

"Travelers of Time" is a glistening prog thumper with one of the most alluring choruses you'll hear in metal this year. ANGRA loads the track with tribal percussion during the intro, tapped to even greater heights throughout "Caveman", and rocketing through a thrash swirl between the song's winding progressions. Yes, there's a ton of sensory parts to maneuver alongside Fabio Lione, who works through this band's complexities as if he's been here a full decade. Another flavor change arrives on "Black Widow's Web", where a womanly leadoff chant is gobbled by squelching, Ihsahn-esque black metal vocals, while the band merrily pounds away behind them. Bruno Valverde clubs a sturdy rhythm to the overtly melodic "Black Widow's Web", which stands to be raked by a gory breakdown and synth-splashed syncopation where Valverde lays in wait to spring again.

Daring to title a cinematic action-packed number "Insania", ANGRA shrewdly serves up operatic and fusion-based measures—bassist Felipe Andreoli is a plucking madman on this song—without hyper-extending. Despite all the intricacies, there's a conventional sensibility behind the gasping theatricality to the songwriting, ditto for the soft and textured love ballad "Always More", making it wholly gratifying. With this grand spectacle coming to close, the superb power ballad "The Bottom of My Soul" is colossal in its own right. The acoustic guitars and mandolin scale to passionate heights with orchestral tugs, hitting an emotional climax in the guitar solo section. Not that "The Bottom of My Soul" should really be compared to QUEENSRYCHE's "Silent Lucidity", but ANGRA has nonetheless achieved a stunning next-gen successor here.

The ferocious "War Horns" is yet another example of how majestic ANGRA's talents are. You're nearly too busy slamming your noggin vertically to catch them, but the choruses escaping from "War Horns"'s wall-whumping thrashes are so refined and supple even DREAM THEATER should be jotting notes. Rafael Bittencourt and Marcelo Barbosa put on a clinic through the entire album, but the neoclassical shredding on this tune is astonishing, even with Bittencourt's pedigree.

"Magic Mirror", "Silence Inside" and "Infinite Nothing" are stuffed with all the audile candy a prog junkie can gorge on, but ANGRA brings its roots to the fore here, particularly the flamenco sweeps leading of "Silence Inside". "Infinite Nothing" is based in chamber fugue and ANGRA thus expels a symphonic masterpiece in obvious admiration of THE MOODY BLUES's "Days of Future Past".

As ever, ANGRA puts immense thought and devotion into every single stitch it laces within its wondrous compositions. Knowing when to tantalize and when to jerk the band's listeners back with addictive harmony, ANGRA may or may not achieve greater international acclamation with "Omni", but they sure as hell deserve it.

Author: Ray Van Horn, Jr.
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).