Razorblade Romance

rating icon 10 / 10

Track listing:

01. I Love You (Prelude to Tragedy)
02. Poison Girl
03. Join Me In Death
04. Right Here In My Arms
05. Gone With the Sin
06. Razorblade Kiss
07. Bury Me Deep Inside Your Heart
08. Heaven Tonight
09. Death Is In Love With Us
10. Resurrection
11. One Last Time

A self-proclaimed "love metal" band, Finland's H.I.M. (which stands for His Infernal Majesty) is that country's biggest rock export ever, and it's easy to see why. Having shed some of their guitar-heavy edge which worked so well on the band's awesome Greatest Love Songs Vol. 666 release, H.I.M.'s penchant for making music that is equally dark and deliciously melodic is even more pronounced than before, with mainman Ville Valo consistently writing some of the strongest material I have heard in years. Although there are obvious reference points, such as TYPE O NEGATIVE, DEPECHE MODE, MISSION U.K. and SISTERS OF MERCY, Valo's knack for marrying goth metal influences with mindlessly catchy pop melodies has resulted in a virtually unbeatable combination—one whose appeal extends itself to a much wider cross-section of the rock world than is the case with the above-mentioned acts.


Having already shifted over 400,000 copies in Germany of this album alone (largely due to the immense success of the LP's first single—and #1 hit—"Join Me"),H.I.M. are rapidly preparing for worldwide domination, with their eyes set on the U.K. and the rest of Scandinavia as the next territories to conquer. Whether or not they will ever manage to translate this overseas success into something similar this side of the Atlantic (where the band have not thus far secured a record deal) remains to be seen. For now, however, Razorblade Romance firmly stands as yet another amazingly crafted album from Europe's best-kept secret, and one that should be part of every rock music fan's record collection.

  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).