rating icon 7 / 10

Track listing:

01. Ebullition
02. Reborn
03. And The Dead Will Walk
04. Fear Me
05. Where The Hate Conceives
06. The Worst Is Yet To Come
07. Forsaken
08. Smashing The Past

Determination personified since 1994, EKTOMORF have been omnipresent and unrelenting over the last two decades. Batting away the obvious geographical disadvantages of hailing from Hungary, Zoltán Farkas's band have toured and recorded relentlessly, earning the respect of a sizeable following, both in Europe and internationally. Admittedly, EKTOMORF have always seemed to exist out of time, at least in musical terms, adhering to a blueprint laid down in the '90s by, let's face it, Max Cavalera, and occasionally twisting it to their own subtly eccentric demands. Of course, the usual elephant in the room is present, correct and wearing a SOULFLY T-shirt throughout "Reborn" too, but EKTOMORF do this stuff so well, and with such conviction, that it would be churlish to lambast them for sticking to a well-worn formula. The band's fifteenth (yup, fifteenth!!) studio album is unlikely to shock anyone that has enjoyed them over the years, but while it does arrive armed with shit-tons of the brutish, groove metal riffs that have long been the core of EKTOMORF's sound, there are a few significant detours and evolutionary steps to be unearthed here too.

The first two tracks ensure that everyone gets a smack in the chops early on: "Ebullition" is a fiery rampage with a thrash metal heart and "Reborn" rumbles and pummels like the last 20 years never happened, but with a grandiose, METALLICA-esque instrumental section in between bursts of brutality. Speaking of which, there is an unquestionably "Orion"-tinged vibe to "Forsaken", a seven-minute instrumental, taking EKTOMORF beyond their usual electrified but primitive boundaries and into a new and gently progressive realm. Frankly, it really suits them and there are other, similar glimpses of a more adventurous future lurking in the haunted slurry of "And The Dead Will Walk" and the acoustic-led, blitzkrieg stomp of "Where The Hate Conceives". Both tracks are comfortably within their creators' wheelhouse, but with plenty of rough edges and spiky sidesteps.

That title certainly suggests that Farkas views this album as a new milestone for his band, and it's plainly one of the strongest, smartest and most memorable records they have ever made. Whether the world will ever truly succumb to EKTOMORF's (almost) unique charms remains a mystery, but when it comes to (a) playing heavy music like your life depends on it and (b) never giving up, no matter what, well, "Reborn" sounds like as good a manifesto as any.

Author: Dom Lawson
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).