rating icon 8 / 10

Track listing:

01. I.O.U. Nothing
02. Bad Blood Between Us
03. Light in the Shadows
04. Suffer in Silence
05. The Bridges You Burn
06. Orion
07. Another Nail in the Coffin
08. Rivals
09. Wait
10. Dumpster Dive
11. Over My Head
12. Fade Away (Karma Never Forgets)
13. Empty Handed

A decade ago, the thought of seeing Dez Fafara onstage with COAL CHAMBER seemed less likely than John Constantine kicking his cigarette habit. The disputes, the altercations, the divisions into new bands with Fafara doing plenty well for himself in DEVILDRIVER. All variables staking heavy odds against the emergence of a new COAL CHAMBER record.

It being thirteen years since COAL CHAMBER's "Dark Days" album, Fafara is reunited with Miguel Rascón, Mike "Bug" Cox and Nadja Peulen. Taking things as slow as promised since mending fences in 2011, COAL CHAMBER officially returns with "Rivals", one of 2015's hot stories in metal. With a guest appearance by MINISTRY's Al Jourgensen, the question remains, "How good can this album actually be?" The upbeat answer is, it's pretty darned good, if slightly flawed.

Opening with the bass-rubbed, groove-happy "I.O.U. Nothing", Dez Fafara growls his way through Mike Cox's pumping tempo and the chewy riffs which give the track a ton of bounce. Assuredly a self-purge from all stations within the band, the next track, "Bad Blood Between Us", keeps the album pounding as Fafara huffs along to the song's muscular groove and dancy choruses. Though DEVILDRIVER is heavier than COAL CHAMBER on any given day, there's something refreshing in listening to Dez Fafara lend his tattooed throat to something with direct harmony again, instead of goring his esophagus raw from one metalcore blast to the next.

"Light in the Shadows" doesn't let up on the gas as Fafara barks "you don't understand the gravity of the situation" to Mike Cox's untiring beat and the humming power chords shoved into the track. Al Jourgensen dumps his filtered squelches into the pogo-inducing "Suffer in Silence", while the KORN-mirrored "The Bridges You Burn" (another track presumed to make amends within camp) is merely so-so.

Dez Fafara mutters a little spoken word overtop some squawky psychedelics on the minute instrumental "Orion" before "Another Nail in the Coffin" resumes the popping recoils with Nadja Peulen's gurgling bass plotting the way. Miguel Rascón pings a screechy intro for the dragged-down title track, which rings a hair of SOULFLY without the extracurricular percussion and Marc Rizzo's six-string circus tricks.

By the time "Wait" arrives, the listener is served the same grooves and beats, which becomes the inherent problem with "Rivals". Despite how solid the performances are, COAL CHAMBER runs out of ideas, letting things fly for the sake of giving Dez Fafara the opportunity to ralph and curse and Miguel Rascón to chop out some pretty good guitar solos. To the plus, "Over My Head" is an easy sell as one of the jumpiest songs on the album, if a bit reminiscent of "Bad Blood Between Us". The rambunctious, quick-stepped verses on "Fade Away (Karma Never Forgets)" shake things up a bit, though the ultimate destination leads to a breakdown-chocked pump on the choruses.

COAL CHAMBER fans will rejoice the band sounds this tight, much less sounds like anything at all. Dez Fafara appears to be having fun and the rest of the band too. Despite its duplications, "Rivals" is a flashback bundle of energy. DEVILDRIVER is hardly finished, however, which leaves reason to believe "Rivals" is, at best, a rowdy trip down nu metal memory lane in the interest of leaving the worst of COAL CHAMBER's past exactly there.

Author: Ray Van Horn, Jr.
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).