rating icon 8.5 / 10

Track listing:


01. In the White
02. Ambitions
03. Teargas
04. Gone
05. A Darkness Coming
06. One Year From Now
07. The Racing Heart
08. Tonight's Music
09. Sleeper
10. Undo You
11. Lethan
12. Day
13. Idle Blood
14. Unfurl
15. Omerta
16. Evidence
17. The One You are Looking for is Not Here


01. Full Concert Film
02. Documentary

Both OPETH and KATATONIA are flaunting their softer, progressive measures these days, and with good reason. While both of these contemporaries are widely-acknowledged masters of death metal, doom and goth, they have both proven to be fearlessly dynamic, even more so the past few years. KATATONIA restructured their 2012 album "Dead End Kings" with supple acoustic treatments and released it as "Dethroned & Uncrowned" a year later. Obviously feeling like they were onto something, KATATONIA next issued the largely stripped live package "Last Fair Day Gone Night" last year.

One year following, we get the frequently gorgeous concert film "Sanctitude", KATATONIA's all-acoustic set performed at Union Chapel in London. As with "Last Fair Day Gone Night", KATATONIA performs to an appreciative English audience, who really turn up the noise during the band's three song encore in this set (as they do early on for "Teargas"),culminating in a guest appearance by current THE GATHERING vocalist Silje Wergeland.

Having toured for "Dethroned & Uncrowned" in 2014 under the banner "Unplugged and Reworked", KATATONIA's presentation here is, of course, all-acoustic. Eighty minutes of lush, metal-based melancholia canvassing the band's catalog, including "Viva Emptiness", "Brave Murder Day", "Discouraged Ones", "Night is the New Day", "Last Fair Deal Gone Down" and, of course, "Dead End Kings" (or, for the purposes of this set, "Dethroned & Uncrowned").

Performing a candlelit set stationed beneath a medieval cross and massive pipe organs with varying textures of stage lighting just might be one of the all-time great stage settings—and with minimum financial outlay. Jonas Renske leads KATATONIA persuasively through placid disassembles and reconfigurations of fan favorites such as "Teargas" and "Tonight's Music" from "Last Fair Day Gone Night", "Day" from "Brave Murder Day", plus a sizable batch of "Viva Emptiness" standouts, including "Sleeper", "Omerta", "Evidence" and "One Year From Now".

As Renske tells his audience the band has a case of the nerves performing these goth and doom metal odes in acoustic form, such modesty is readily opposed. "Last Fair Day Gone Night" was solid enough, but "Sanctitude" finds KATATONIA organically transmuting their heavier, doom-based material along with the "Dethroned & Uncrowned" tracks. With the ambient candles at their feet, calming percussion and splashes of red, blue, pink, purple, orange and yellow cast about the band, there's a dazzling essence of Rococo to "Sanctitude".

Metal music turned Baroque, and climaxed by the curtain call selections "Omerta", "Evidence" and "The One You are Looking for is Not Here", joined on the latter by Silje Wergeland, who helps send the set off with further grace. Bruce Soord of THE PINEAPPLE THIEF and JP Asplund sat in with KATATONIA on the "Unplugged and Reworked" tour for the departing Per Eriksson and Daniel Liljekvist respectively, and they do a very admirable job. As it appears uncertain where KATATONIA is heading next musically given the loss of Eriksson and Liljekvist, one thing's for certain; they've made some lovely magic within this stripped milieu and they're capitalizing upon it while licking their wounds.

Author: Ray Van Horn, Jr.
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).