Nuclear Blast
rating icon 8 / 10

Track listing:

01. Territory (feat. David Ellefson)
02. Cut-Throat (feat. Scott Ian)
03. Sepulnation (feat. Danko Jones)
04. Inner Self (feat. Phil Rind)
05. Hatred Aside (feat. Angélica Burns, Mayara Puertas & Fernanda Lira)
06. Mask (feat. Devin Townsend)
07. Fear, Pain, Chaos, Suffering (feat. Emmily Barreto)
08. Vandals Nest (feat. Alex Skolnick)
09. Slave New World (feat. Matthew K. Heafy)
10. Ratamahatta (feat. Joao Barone & Charles Gavin)
11. Apes Of God (feat. Rob Cavestany)
12. Phantom Self (feat. Mark Holcomb)
13. Slaves Of Pain (feat. Frédéric Leclercq & Marcello Pompeu)
14. Kaiowas (feat. Rafael Bittencourt)
15. Orgasmatron (feat. Phil Campbell)

Brazilian thrash metal legends SEPULTURA have had to endure the ravaging pandemic just like everyone else. The pandemic's timing was incredibly unfortunate for the band having just released their monstrous album "Quadra" in February of 2020: meaning that the unit was unable to tour in its support. The prolific, hardworking act didn't allow the pandemic to force them into a state of inactivity, however. Instead, the Brazilians enlisted some of their friends and colleagues to re-record some of their classic material; songs that were released in a series of YouTube videos that have since been mixed and mastered by Conrado Ruther into a collection titled "SepulQuarta".

The guest musicians amount to a veritable "who's who" list of metal luminaries, to be sure. Generally speaking, the re-recordings certainly don't outshine the original tracks, but they are interesting, fresh takes on revered songs. Right off the bat, SEPULTURA strikes with their updated take on "Territory" (from "Chaos A.D." ),featuring former MEGADETH bassist Dave Ellefson. The incredibly aggressive "Roots" song "Cut-Throat" follows with the assistance of ANTHRAX's legendary guitarist Scott Ian. What's most notable about these songs and others that were culled from the Max Cavalera era isn't the guest musicians, though. "New guy" Derrick Green, who has been in the band for just shy of a quarter century, beams bright throughout "SepulQuarta" with a voice that is of course similar to Max's. But as we know, Green is very much a distinct vocalist and his take on Max Cavalera-era songs elevate the release above novelty status. The same can be said of virtuoso drummer Eloy Casagrande's performances that were originally given life by Igor Cavalera.

Other guests obviously make an impact as well. DEVIN TOWNSEND, for instance, lends his impressive talents to "Mask" (from "Kairos"),adding his bizarre flare to SEPULTURA with his one-of-a-kind vocals and tremendous guitar solo work. ANGRA's Rafael Bittencourt's revisioning of "Kaiowas" (from "Chaos A.D." ) is truly adventurous and spirited. It provides a unique and bright contrast to Andreas Kisser's source material. Elsewhere, TRIVIUM's Matthew K. Heafy quite possibly offers the most hefty and intense vocal delivery of his career on "Slave New World" (from "Chaos A.D." ).

Considering the organic performances at hand, the slightly varied deliveries compared to the original songs, and the contributions of the notable guest musicians, SEPULTURA has effectively breathed new life into the band's classic material, and proves the value of the band's current, longtime lineup. "SepulQuarta" also provides a proper overview of the band's material from the last 20 years, reminding fans that the band has released copious amounts of incredible material following the Max Cavalera era, which is also decently covered in the release.

Author: Jay H. Gorania
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).