The Doorway

Sentient Ruin
rating icon 7.5 / 10

Track listing:

01. A Glimpse of The Pattern
02. By Allusion Called
03. Three Drops of Milk Before Retiring
04. Dying
05. The Doorway
06. Self Not Self
07. Death State Boundary
08. Ascension
09. Revelation

The restorative powers of extreme music are hardly in dispute at this point. Irrespective of reasons why, listening to truly horrible, grim and violent music is fundamental to our overall sense of well-being. And sometimes, only the absolute most extreme thing will do. Whether it's metal classics like MARDUK's "Panzer Division Marduk", HATE ETERNAL's "King of All Kings" and ANAAL NATHRAKH's scabrous debut "The Codex Necro" or flat-out noise assaults like MERZBOW's immortal "Venereology", getting smashed to bits by insane levels of sound and aggression is simply one of life's great joys. With that in mind, VESSEL OF INIQUITY could be the perfect antidote to your post-pandemic funk, or simply a fitting soundtrack to your baseball-swinging, window-smashing personal meltdown. Either way, "The Doorway" is as visceral, filthy and extreme as anything else around in 2021, virulent super-bugs notwithstanding.

If you have ever thought that BLUT AUS NORD were a bit a too cheerful, VESSEL OF INIQUITY have a new shade of black just for you. In this twisted sonic realm, lumbering, drawn-out doom is just as important as the relentless scree of maxed-out electronics and black metal blasting that dominates much of "The Doorway". This is a profoundly despondent and hateful howl into the void, with no light, no love and only the bitter laughter of the unjustly defeated. In particular, the 12-minute funeral grind of "By Allusion Called" is heroically grim and unrelenting. Elsewhere, the meandering horror of "Three Drops of Milk Before Retiring" begins like an underwater acid trip before swiftly transitioning into the sound of a bombing raid on some gargantuan pan-dimensional scrapyard. Even the more straightforward songs are delivered with such skull-shattering, everything-on-11 intensity that the riffs warp and weft in the air, beholden to the vagaries of demons unleashed and transformed into an inhuman rush of ugly power. "Dying" and the title track are both ferocious, while "Self Not Self" blends feral insanity with more suppurating, tectonic doom. Those with a strong constitution will note that the closing "Ascension" is the best of the lot: nine minutes of untamed black metal anarchy, delivered with psychotic levels of malicious energy.

In the best possible way, "The Doorway" is exhausting. Play it really loud when you want your visitors to leave. Trust me.

Author: Dom Lawson
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).