Silent So Long

rating icon 9 / 10

Track listing:

01. Eat You Alive
02. Get Down
03. Rock City
04. Hypothetical
05. Rainbow
06. Born On My Own
07. Giving Up
08. My Pleasure
09. Happy Times
10. Faust
11. Silent So Long

RAMMSTEIN guitarist Richard Kruspe is back with the second album under his side project, EMIGRATE, following the 2007 self-titled debut. As one of the tightest bands in the world, any RAMMSTEIN release is bound to gather a lot of attention. "Silent So Long" should draw a lot of followers, not just because of RAMMSTEIN, but because it features cameos from Marilyn Manson, MOTÖRHEAD's Lemmy Kilmister, Jonathan Davis of KORN, Frank Delle from German horn ensemble SEEED and Canada-to-Germany diva plant Peaches.

Better yet, Kruspe and his EMIGRATE players (including guitarist/producer Olson Involtini, bassist Arnaud Giroux and drummers Mikko Sirén and Joe Letz) throw out eleven English-sung tracks, all but one (the exception being the slow cooker "Born on My Own") filled with popping energy. While the first EMIGRATE album was full of curious and often cool ideas, "Silent So Long" is a focused, bouncing album with just enough pulls from and away RAMMSTEIN to give this band its own identity.

"Eat You Alive" is one the better album openers you'll hear this year. It carries an invigorating pump, strident riffs and well-stacked choruses from Kruspe, who spills a minor rasp into this cut, slightly jacking his otherwise brimming cleans. Frank Delle's loony throat wriggles actually makes "Eat You Alive" even more exciting. The electro pulse shoving the dance rocker "Get Down" is both bred from KRAFTWERK and Prince with its fortifying digi groove and funky guitar lines for much of the ride. Kruspe hammers down the track with a booming finale and his shrill guitar solos are about the only dirty spots on this smartly delivered bobber.

Playing to a double-hammered path on the adrenalized "Rock City", Lemmy Kilmister ralphs and croons to a blazing tempo that readily fits him even with the digital shakes and electronics swirling about the base velocity. Richard Kruspe writes a soothing bridge in the middle of this song that defies logic, but it works as magically as Lemmy's walk-on.

For any direct sound connections to RAMMSTEIN, the main riffs of "Hypothetical" are borrowed from the latter's "Mein Herz Brent", while slinking along with more shimmy than brute force. Like Lemmy and "Rock City", Kruspe matches the groove of "Hypothetical" to suit Marilyn Manson's glam-crunk shakes. Though "Rainbow" is pure rock in nature, there are subliminal hoists of riffs and electro patter from RAMMSTEIN, yet Kruspe differentiates EMIGRATE's material by kicking this song with a footloose pound that allows for more snare rolls and surfing keys. The banging "My Pleasure" and the sultry slinker "Happy Times" could hang on a RAMMSTEIN album and take your pick who should sing them: Kruspe or Till Lindemann. These songs rock hard enough for either man to sock them out.

The tough strides of "Giving Up" hardly does that. The song, like most of this album, cooks with serious heat. In this case, the dialed-back strut allows for a harder beat and nastier riffs to guide the swimming keys. Richard Kruspe snarls and bucks the song's title with stout bravado. Even with a slower, electro-swept tempo guiding the title track, the groove is so thick it guides the song toward its moody choruses where Kruspe and Jonathan Davis merge together terrifically. The song spikes with blaring guitars where appropriate and crescendos with a full rock kick, wrapping the album on as much of a high as it began with.

Like RAMMSTEIN, Richard Kruspe and EMIGRATE play tight to the hip and in this case, the songs hum usually within four minutes (minus the 4:50 running time of "Born On My Own"). What was hinted at with the first EMIGRATE album is a huge step forward with "Silent So Long". While we wait for a new RAMMSTEIN album to manifest, this is a fantastic tide over.

Author: Ray Van Horn, Jr.
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).