Spirituality And Distortion

Metal Blade
rating icon 8 / 10

Track listing:

01. Downgrade Desert
02. Nervous Waltz
03. Very Noise
04. Hollow Tree
05. Camel Dancefloor
06. Parpaing
07. Musette Maximum
08. Himalaya Massive Ritual
09. Lost in Introspection
10. Overweight Poesy
11. Paranoid Bulldozer Italiano
12. Barocco Satani
13. Polyphonic Rust
14. Kung-Fu Chèvre

From shadowy internet semi-sensation to his current status as Metal Blade's most determinedly eccentric act, IGORRR's Gautier Serre has played his cards beautifully so far. Steadily progressing from the unmistakably clinical clatter of a studio-bound fever dream to the more sophisticated, semi-organic and musically rich incarnation that emerges on "Spirituality and Distortion", IGORRR are exactly the kind of ferociously niche musical entity that could, in this unpredictable world, score a genuine mainstream breakthrough at some point. Whether it happens with this record or not is debatable, but this is clearly the most cohesive and well-constructed album the French ensemble have nailed, glued and tethered together thus far.

If you're familiar with IGORRR's unique strain of musical madness, then fear not: "Spirituality and Distortion" contains liberal quantities of harpsichords, demented breakbeats, über-gothic funeral marches, Olympic-standard operatic bellowing, and numerous orchestral and cinematic interjections that should make absolutely no sense but, thanks to sheer force of personality and heroic levels of exuberance, actually do. It can be absurdly pretty ("Lost in Introspection") or genuinely unhinged ("Camel Dancefloor"),but it's never dull and always delivered with a shit-eating, mad professor grin. Everything sounds significantly fuller and heavier than 2017's "Savage Sinusoid", and when IGORRR do attempt a more straightforward metal section, boosted conviction is palpable.

At the end of the thrillingly whacked-out "Parpaing", there's a brief burst of white noise, and then silence. Then the accordions start up, accompanied by skull-rattling kick drums, for one of the jauntiest (and therefore, most disturbing) two minutes of music you'll hear in 2020. It's that kind of record. And whether you're old enough to remember how insanely exciting the first MR. BUNGLE album was when it came out, or smart enough to have spent time with the likes of CARNIVAL IN COAL, DOG FASHION DISCO on the art rock side of things or THE ALGORITHM and VENETIAN SNARES on the electronic side, these intricate, fiendishly subversive but remorselessly entertaining eruptions of beautiful music and terrifying noise will keep your brain spinning for a few weeks at least.

Author: Dom Lawson
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).