The Albatross

rating icon 7.5 / 10

Track listing:

01. Dead Ringer
02. Cannonball
03. After All
04. Nightingale
05. 1000 Pieces of You
06. Ghost Town
07. Warm Wreckage
08. Beyond the Greener Side
09. Guns, Coins, and 2 B Flat Clarinets
10. The Question
11. Red Tides
12. Square Peg In a Round Hole

Familiar reference points may abound when listening to this, the second album from up-and-coming Ohio band ONCEOVER. But these guys are masters of the unexpected curveball — just when you think they're gonna take the well-traveled path and indulge themselves in metalcore cliché, they bust into moments of surprising melody, almost treading into modern rock territory. It's still heavy and heartfelt, a little left-of-center of radio rock, all the better for its broad spectrum of influences and refusal to be pigeonholed.

The band's not-so-secret weapon is vocalist Dave Ayling — listen to a song like "Ghost Town", where his full range is utilized. In the hands of a lesser band, we'd be looking at an emo-fied mess, but ONCEOVER can pull off this sort of heart-on-the-sleeve performance and back it up with strong, heavy riffing and memorable songs. He can bust out some serious death growls, too, used just enough to keep things diverse — often juxtaposing the harsher vocal against a quiet, building passage in the music, to create unexpected tension.

ONCEOVER seem to take influence from several oddball sources (think maybe latter-era THOUGHT INDUSTRY or mid-'90s VOIVOD),but at the end of the day their music is quite accessible. It's kinda got that earnest DEFTONES thing going on, with a little bit of Swede-metal influence woven in, particularly in the textured guitars. The cool thing about it is, it's hooky and infectious, but without pandering or trying too hard to fit into a corporate playlist — if anything, the band has probably hurt their chances at mainstream success by doing things their own way, and allowing their sound to grow any which way.

"The Albatross" is well worth tracking down for those unafraid of melody and harmony, but still seeking a challenging listening experience and songs that'll stick with you long after the last note fades.

  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).