The Unquiet Sky

Seventh Rule Recordings
rating icon 7 / 10

Track listing:

01. No Able Fires
02. Ration
03. Dead Weight
04. Los Nietos
05. Queen
06. Tied and Gagged
07. God of Panic
08. Lord of Decay
09. Loophole Noose
10. Shill
11. Worshipper of Sores

As the cosmic whirring and acid-trip drone of four-and-a-half minute instrumental opener "No Able Fires" fills the air, it's a cinch that smooth crooning and hardcore breakdowns won't be following. In fact, INDIAN moves right into a nine-and-a-half-minute crawl called "Ration" that sets the tone for remainder of the sludge/doom natural disaster that is "The Unquiet Sky". As obvious as the comparisons may seem, EYEHATEGOD and early period ELECTRIC WIZARD are both apt comparisons for the low-end fuzz thumping of this rabid and wounded dog of an album.

Though not raising the bar for the genre, there are certain intangibles that give "The Unquiet Sky" a little more personality and distinction than the average distortion peddler. Of course, it never hurts to have Sanford Parker's immense recording skills to give the delivery an extra boot in the ass. For all the slobbering dirge, INDIAN is adept at changing mood and tempo, if ever so slightly and if only for brief periods. A break from the crawl in "Tied and Gagged", complete with tension-building riffs and textured drumming, goes a long way toward deepening the album's impact. The same can be said of the opening motor-grinding riff and up-tempo shifts on "Los Nietos". At various points along the way, one is choked with feedback bile, such as during the beginning of "Loophole Noose" (another tune with good use of shift into quicker tempo territory with varied drumming),steam-rolled into painful submission, or ground down to a bloody nub.

At no point during "The Unquiet Sky" is the listener allowed to breathe easy, the smothering force of the music always looming large. And by the way, the macabre artwork and design of Scott Fricke (album cover and inside booklet) is fantastic. If you've ever wondered what it might feel like to be burned alive or drowned in quicksand, grab a copy of "The Unquiet Sky" and find out for yourself.

  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).