This Is Tomorrow

Metal Blade
rating icon 8 / 10

Track listing:

01. Force Fed Fear
02. Sinister Christians
03. Scavengers
04. Zero Containment
05. Ghosts of Humanity
06. As the World Crumbles
07. Oblivion
08. Deeper Wounds
09. The Devil's Grasp
10. No Salvation
11. This Is Tomorrow

The incestuous nature of the metal underground means that, superficially at least, bands like SIEGE OF POWER are par for the course. The difference between this four-man wrecking crew and hundreds like them is that everyone involved has absolutely impeccable credentials. Best known for several stints with ASPHYX, drummer Bob Bagchus currently rides with BEAST OF REVELATION, GRAND SUPREME BLOOD COURT, INFIDEL REICH and several others. Bassist Theo van Eekelen and guitarist Paul Baayens are both former members of HAIL OF BULLETS, while these days Baayens is an ASPHYX mainstay, alongside his work with death/thrash mob THANATOS. If all that isn't enough to pique your interest, SIEGE OF POWER are fronted by the legendary Chris Reifert from AUTOPSY, who generally has a bewildering number of always excellent side-projects on the boil. Can any self-respecting death metal fan honestly say that they don't want to hear "This Is Tomorrow"?

Each to their own, of course. SIEGE OF POWER's 2018 debut, "Warning Blast", set out their stall in thuggish, monochrome shades. Arguably against the odds, their newly minted blend of old-school death metal, brutish hardcore, primitive thrash and all-out grind crackled with spirit and just enough originality to convince. It was everything it claimed to be, but nothing more. Second time around, SIEGE OF POWER have audibly morphed into much more of a focused unit, and the gruff amalgam of subgenres and styles has evolved too. With hell-for-leather thrash providing the roots and core of the whole thing, the quartet's dives into darker waters have become more effective. These men know what they're doing and it's a joy to witness.

The end result almost defies analysis. This is the kind of metal record that makes people throw their furniture around. Songs like "Force Fed Fear" and the magnificently titled "Sinister Christians" make no attempt to mess around. Instead, this is pure metal filth, fashioned into a big, knobbly club and swung around with psychotic abandon. There are brutal D-beats and imperious, BOLT THROWER-style doom-dozer riffs; there are sustained speed metal attacks and the frosty, guillotine chop of crust-punk. Again, the mere act of looking for weak points seems rather contrary to the spirit of the thing.

Fortunately, SIEGE OF POWER sustain their haughty mastery of all things horrible until the bitter end. A more diverse affair than its predecessor, despite its apparent simplicity, "This Is Tomorrow" meanders menacingly through evil gothic metal ("Ghosts of Humanity"),  a warped and sludgy reimagining of BATHORY-style pomp ("Deeper Wounds") and three minutes of the scabbiest rock 'n' roll this side of GG ALLIN ("The Devil's Grasp"). It concludes with the agonizing dirge of its title track, which is disgustingly heavy and infected with the blank-eyed essence of early SWANS. At this point, we should expect nothing less from these people. They know what they're doing. And what they're doing is vicious, ugly and obnoxious. Heroes, I tell you.

Author: Dom Lawson
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).