Through The Storm

Metal Blade
rating icon 9 / 10

Track listing:

01. Turn The Tables
02. Lost Inside This World
03. Chains (Revolving)
04. Through The Storm
05. Let It Show
06. Burn The Sun
07. To My Head
08. Essential Enemies
09. Only You Can Rock Me
10. Isle Of Shadows
11. Here Comes The Sun

Tipton/Downing. Murray/Smith. Shermann/Denner. You with me here? Let me add to that list the fourth-best metal guitar duo of all time: Reale/Flyntz. But like RIOT in general, they have yet to receive the same level of recognition as the others (except in Japan!). Despite this, RIOT continues to release album after album of quality metal, remaining vibrant and inspired long into their twilight years, while so many others' prime moments forever rest in the '80s. According to this longtime RIOT fan, albums like Inishmore and Sons Of Society stand up strongly when placed next to past achievements like Fire Down Under, Born In America and Thundersteel. Their 12th studio full-length, Through The Storm, continues the high standard of all its predecessors.

Led by burning and passionate fretwork (leads and riffs),the album's other big individual strength is vocalist Mike DiMeo. Possessing a voice that is gritty and bluesy, as well as smooth and soaring, he has "classic" written all over his phrasing and melodic choices. For the uninitiated, RIOT are akin to old RAINBOW and the heaviest DEEP PURPLE, yet there's a traditional heavy metal thread pulsating strongly throughout. It all comes together with powerful perfection on album highlights like "Turn The Tables", "Through The Storm", and "Burn The Sun". Hovering between mid-paced tenacity and ball-breaking riffing, early climax "Chains (Revolving)" features all the hallmarks of great RIOT: catchiness, inventive licks, soulful singing, exciting rhythmic ideas. Though there's a burning liveliness to most of these tracks, they don't quite jump out of the speakers quite as authoritatively as anything on previous album Sons Of Society. Maybe that's because longtime drummer Bobby Jarzombek left the position for his full-time HALFORD gig. Another Bobby, of the Rondinelli sort (known for his work in RAINBOW, BLACK SABBATH and BLUE ÖYSTER CULT),has taken over. His drumming is similar to Vinnie Appice's — all 10-ton anchor and only the slightest bit of finesse. Hardly an adequate replacement for Jarzombek, Rondinelli is good but doesn't do anything that some 200 other professional drummers wouldn't do. Jarzombek innovated and excited constantly. On the whole, however, most of this album remains a electric dynamo of high-class, '70s-rooted traditional metal. (Oh, and TNT/WESTWORLD vocalist Tony Harnell does some characteristically awesome vocal backups throughout the album, most notably on "Lost Inside This World". Total class.)

A few things hold the album back a little. The ballad, "Let It Show", isn't RIOT's strongest ballad, and even though they keep writing at least one ballad per album, they have never been great ballad writers and should probably let this inclination of theirs go unrecorded. The other offending tune is the cover of UFO's "Only You Can Rock Me". Wouldn't this be a better choice for a tired bar band to cover? It's definitely not something for gods to smack around. It's not even close to being one of UFO's best songs either, and now it ranks as one of the most unnecessary cover versions ever. And had "Essential Enemies" not been marred by the unncessary distorted vocals in the verse, it would stand as another highlight on an album of many highlights.

Through The Storm closes on an eclectic note, with two guitar-led instrumentals. The first, "Isle Of Shadows", sounds great but probably would've fit even better on Inishmore as an outro or something, given it's folk-ish slant. Then there's closer "Here Comes The Sun", Mark Reale's loving tribute to George Harrison. Made up of several guitar layers and violin (acoustic guitar filling in the vocal lines),the atmospheric treatment and beautiful melodic interchanges are a sublime way for Through The Storm to end, and more proof that Reale and RIOT deserve to be as big across the globe as he and his band are in Japan.

  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).