Trident Wolf Eclipse

Century Media
rating icon 7 / 10

Track listing:

01. Nuclear Alchemy
02. Sacred Damnation
03. Teufelsreich
04. Furor Diabolicus
05. A Throne Below
06. Ultra (Pandemoniac)
07. Towards The Sanctuary
08. The Fire of Power
09. Antikrists Mirakel

Ironically enough, and quite contrary to the darkness they surely wish to portray, the spotlight upon Sweden's WATAIN has shined quite brightly in terms of fanfare. The unit's notoriously vile live performances and consistently impressive and singular take on Scandinavian black metal over the last couple of decades has cemented its place as one of the genre's most important bands in the new millennium. Around the period of the highly acclaimed 2010 album "Lawless Darkness", a release that saw it win a Swedish Grammy Award, the group seemed to begin to approach a fork in the road. Would they leap toward CRADLE OF FILTH caliber outlandishness, or would they maintain a trajectory along the most filthy and unkempt gutter of the left-hand path?

For stubborn purists, the types that insist that every black metal band needs to eternally attempt to recreate DARKTHRONE's abstract slice of hell that is "Transylvanian Hunger", the Swedes took the "wrong turn" on 2013's "The Wild Hunt", a more diverse release that encompassed elements of progressive and traditional heavy metal. The focal point for this pocket of disheartened, clenched-fisted fans was the album's nearly nine-minute long epic track, "They Rode On", because of Erik Danielsson's melodic singing, the sparse backing female vocals and the acoustic driven gothic sensibilities. The song is compelling at its best moments, a shoddy and meandering slow-burner somewhat reminiscent of METALLICA's "Nothing Else Matters" at its worst. In fairness, the album successfully sculpted a dynamic journey. It was too much of a departure for some, quite vocal, conservative minded black metal enthusiasts, however.

But perhaps WATAIN's fork in the road truly arrived following the highly divisive aforementioned release. Would the unit continue to journey along a path now ripe with fruits of progressive metal and experimentation, or would they return to the path more familiar? "Trident Wolf Eclipse" suggests the that band has chosen the latter. Outsiders can speculate as to whether the shift was due to career-minded concerns and appeasing its long-standing fanbase, or if the more traditionally sounding black metal album was a result of creative desire. Whatever the motivations were, "Trident Wolf Eclipse", the band's sixth full-length studio effort, is rich with interesting, intricate, full-throttle black metal that entails a transcendental quality oozing throughout the release, captured masterfully by producer Tore Stjerna. While it's certainly a safe move career-wise, "Trident Wolf Eclipse" is an impressive album measured against second wave black metal standards without being run-of-the-mill. Within those boundaries, and to their credit, WATAIN has carved out its own pocket.

WATAIN's characteristically nefarious aura and atmospherics remain, yet the ensemble has arguably never sounded so cut-throat in approach. "Towards the Sanctuary" includes some of the fastest material of the band's career. "Trident Wolf Eclipse" is indeed chock-full of blast-beats and belligerence. Opener "Nuclear Alchemy" adequately represents what follows as it explodes with a frantic attack that thrashes and rages with MARDUK-like intensity and effective tempo transitions. An outburst of chaotic war metal fracas and soloing even arises, not to mention the catchy, recurring chorus line. Håkan Jonsson's skillful percussion is the glue that holds the mania together and that steers the abrupt tempo transitions in an album that was meticulously crafted from beginning to end. There's so much going on at such a high velocity that multiple listens are required to fully appreciate and comprehend everything that unfolds.

Author: Jay H. Gorania
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).