Walk The Sky

rating icon 7.5 / 10

Track listing:

01. One Life
02. Wouldn't You Rather
03. In the Deep
04. Godspeed
05. Native Son
06. Take the Crown
07. Indoctrination
08. The Bitter End
09. Pay No Mind
10. Forever Falling
11. Clear Horizon
12. Walking on the Sky
13. Tear Us Apart
14. Dying Light

There's something disarming and very welcome about the sound of Myles Kennedy almost whispering his way through brief intro "One Life", because although ALTER BRIDGE have had plenty of subtle and downtempo moments over the years, their last album, "The Last Hero", was a near-remorseless barrage of bombast and overwrought emoting; an enthusiastic over-egging of the post-grunge pudding that was compounded by the Royal Albert Hall shows that followed, wherein a full orchestra added yet more layers of clangor and pomp to the experience. As sumptuous and entertaining as those performances undoubtedly were, it was hard not to leave the venue craving paracetamol and a lie down.

Superficially, Kennedy and his comrades have stayed true to their simple but effective initial masterplan from the start, but the versatility and lightness of touch that made early records like "Blackbird" and the flawless "III" so engaging seems to have become slowly weighed down and diminished by arena-filling heavy handedness. Not that ALTER BRIDGE have suffered a change in fortunes as a result, of course: the band's huge fan base will love "Walk the Sky" every bit as much as they have the band's previous six albums. The major difference between this and its overpowering predecessor is a subtle but clearly discernible looseness and swagger in the band's performances. It's as if they reached a peak of volume and heaviness and passed through to the other side, where groove, melody and sonic space are kings, and bursts of heavy metal thunder are used to contrast, rather than cudgel. Nothing radical has happened to the way ALTER BRIDGE write songs, but there is a breeziness to the flow of "Godspeed" and "Native Son" that feels fresh and new, and an inventiveness and sense of wide-eyed wonder in myriad ambient embellishments, all of which make this by far the band's most sonically interesting record to date.

Beyond that, how much you dig "Walk the Sky" depends entirely on how much you love what ALTER BRIDGE do. There are choruses piled on top of choruses, all of them designed to either raise the spirits or wrench tears from your eyes. MARK TREMONTI remains one of the unsung metal guitar heroes of the modern era, and here his strike rate for killer riffs is higher than ever (check out the murderous, slamming verse riff for "Take the Crown" for one great example!),while the aforementioned Mr. Kennedy sounds as fervently committed to every note and proclamation as ever, albeit with all-out histrionics kept to an efficacious minimum. His voice may be manna for some and kryptonite to others, but it would take a hard heart to deny that his vocal on the closer, "Dying Light", is a thing of gritty, soulful beauty.

Naturally, if you wanted more of the same, there's plenty of that here, but "Walk the Sky" is a smarter, sharper and more absorbing affair than anything ALTER BRIDGE have recorded this decade.

Author: Dom Lawson
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).