World Without God

rating icon 8 / 10

Track listing:

01. Introduction
02. World Without God
03. Putrid Intercourse
04. Incantation of Restoration
05. Blasphemous Verses
06. False Religion
07. Resuscitation of Evilness
08. Infernal End
09. Godless Truth
10. Powerstruggle of Belief

Another round of kudos to Relapse is in order for unearthing more classic late '80s/early '90s death metal, packaging it up nicely, and releasing it to a new generation of extremists. After last year's excellent NIRVANA 2002 package ("Recordings 89-91") comes a reissue of CONVULSE's 1992 release "World without God", an album that had previously been unavailable for 10 years.

In addition to the spot on remastering and repackaging efforts, you get 60 minutes of damn fine death metal, which not only includes the 10-track "World without God", but also the equally gnarly "Resuscitation of Evil" demo from 1990 and two live tracks of decent recording quality, one of which is an über-cool version of VENOM's "Countess Bathory". It is the proper "World without God" portion of the release that is truly an underappreciated classic. Consider something along the lines of early GORGUTS meets BOLT THROWER with shades of ASPHYX and a sizeable serving of doom-death and you'll be pretty damn close. More than just festering with repulsion and dripping with dread (both of which it does deliciously well),the album represents a kind of death metal coming of age in that it is neither singularly straight death groove, traditional doom-death, nor straight up OSDM; it is in fact all three. It grooves and romps at speeds that are often up-tempo, but it also churns and sickens, both of the latter attributes enhanced with the use of creepy keys (e.g. "Intro" and "Godless Truth"),whispers ("Incantation of Restoration") and spooky clean picking ("False Religion"). They key here is that "old school" does not equate to "dated" or "simplistic", a central reason why the album continues to stand the test of time.

In other words, "World without God" offers the listener a well rounded example of early '90s blasphemous, horrific death metal that is memorable, adeptly performed, and stinking of decaying flesh. If you missed it the first time around and you fancy yourself a fan of the vintage stuff, then your golden opportunity has just presented itself.

  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).