"The End Of Heartache"


01. A Bid Farewell
02. Take This Oath
03. When Darkness Falls
04. Rose Of Sharyn
05. Inhale
06. Breathe Life
07. The End Of Heartache
08. Declaration
09. World Ablaze
10. And Embers Rise
11. Wasted Sacrifice
12. Hope Is...

RATING: 8/10

When KILLSWITCH ENGAGE burst onto the scene in 2002, they lived up to the promise of New England scene legends OVERCAST (from which they had descended) with a sound that defied the nu-metal trends of the moment and went for something a little more traditional, yet still modern enough to sound fresh. A potential setback for the group — the departure of vocalist Jesse Leach almost as soon as their Roadrunner debut, "Alive Or Just Breathing", was released — turned into a golden opportunity as they recruited BLOOD HAS BEEN SHED frontman Howard Jones to step in. Jones helped elevate the already seasoned band to a new level as a live unit, and the chemistry they've developed since then has paid off in crushing style with the band's third effort, "The End Of Heartache".

As with their second album, KILLSWITCH ENGAGE liberally blends many different styles of metal and hardcore into an intense, fiery stew. Riffs with roots firmly planted in the great American thrash and European metal traditions peel out of every single song, bolstered by a rhythm section, featuring solid new drummer Justin Foley, that is relentless. "The End Of Heartache" features ten songs and two brief instrumentals, and its relatively short (under 43 minutes) length and wall-to-wall sequencing (all the songs bleed into each other) ensure that the music doesn't get stale and the listener only gets a breath when the band permits.

The quintet has bigger things on their minds as well, as epic tracks like "When Darkness Falls" and the title cut build to gigantic crescendos of power and emotion. Jones is a nimble and diverse singer, easily jumping from a bloodcurdling growl to a soulful croon, and while he occasionally skirts on the edge of emo-style plaintiveness, he never lets himself fall into that abyss. Those two songs also underline KILLSWITCH ENGAGE's growing prowess as songwriters: both mix muscle with melodicism, showcasing memorable choruses and fluid arrangements, whereas some of the other songs pile up the riffage without necessarily organizing it into a completely catchy structure.

But even the band's less unforgettable material makes up for that with sheer metallic crunch, and the group is clearly progressing in the right direction in any case. Add a vicious, in-your-face production by guitarist Adam Dutkiewicz and a razor-sharp mix from the always-brilliant Andy Sneap, and you've got a certain contender for one of the best all-out metal albums of the year. It may be the end of heartache, but KILLSWITCH ENGAGE shows that metal is not just breathing, but indisputably alive.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).