CANDLEMASS: 'Ashes To Ashes - Live' DVD To Receive U.S. Release In June

March 18, 2010

Swedish doom metal legends CANDLEMASS will release a new DVD, "Ashes To Ashes - Live", in North America on June 29 via Nuclear Blast Records (April 23 in Europe). The set will contain footage of the band's performance at last year's Sweden Rock Festival in front of 30,000 people as well as CANDLEMASS' entire October 2009 concert in Athens, Greece. The DVD will be released as a CD+DVD, with the Sweden Rock show as the audio CD. For the die-hard fans, Nuclear Blast is putting two sets of double vinyl together (one set Sweden Rock Festival, one set Athens),limited edition 1,000 copies each.

Sweden Rock Festival setlist:

01. Dark Are The Veils Of Death
02. Samarithan
03. If I Ever Die
04. Hammer Of Doom
05. At the Gallows End
06. Emperor Of The Void
07. Bleeding Baroness
08. A Sorcerer's Pledge
09. Solitude
10. Kill The King (RAINBOW cover)

Athens setlist:

01. Mirror Mirror
02. Samarithan
03. At The Gallows End
04. If I Ever Die
05. Hammer of Doom
06. Dark Are The Veils Of Death
07. Demon's Gate
08. Emperor Of The Void
09. Man Of Shadows
10. Bleeding Baroness
11. Tears
12. A Sorcerer's Pledge
13. Demon Of The Deep
14. Solitude

"Death Magic Doom", the latest album from CANDLEMASS, debuted at No. 79 on the Top New Artist Albums (Heatseekers) chart, which lists the best-selling albums by new and developing artists, defined as those who have never appeared in the Top 100 of The Billboard 200.

"Death Magic Doom" entered the German Media Control chart at position No. 52. The group's previous CD, "King of the Grey Islands", debuted at No. 83 back in June 2007.

CANDLEMASS bassist/songwriter Leif Edling previously stated about "Death Magic Doom", "The songs [on the new album] are about immortality, depressions, demons, vampires, funerals and the almighty devil that we all know very well. I love the way we perform here. Rob's singing and Lasse's [Lars Johansson, guitar] soloing are nothing but amazing!! The production is also outstanding! The name 'Death Magic Doom' captures it perfectly! Great name! Love it! It is very suitable for an album of this magnitude AND it also describes what CANDLEMASS is about; Heavy, hard, epic, colossal metal!!! I would say that 'Death Magic Doom' is the best album we have done since 'Nightfall' [1987]!! In all, [the LP contains] nearly 50 minutes of bone-crushing and mind-blowing doom metal!!"

CANDLEMASS was among the five final nominees that competed for the "Best Hard Rock" honor at the Swedish Grammis awards, which was held January 15, 2010 at Münchenbryggeriet in Stockholm. The bands are all nominated for their most recent releases, all of which came out during 2009.

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email