CANDLEMASS Mainman LEIF EDLING's THE DOOMSDAY KINGDOM Selling Box-Set Versions Of Debut Album

January 13, 2018

CANDLEMASS bassist and songwriter Leif Edling is selling a few remaining copies of the box-set version of the self-titled debut album from his THE DOOMSDAY KINGDOM solo project. The disc, which originally came out last April via Nuclear Blast, contains eight epic doom tracks with a pinch of NWOBHM and haunting catchy melodies. Joining Edling on the effort are WOLF singer Niklas Stålvind, guitarist Marcus Jidell (AVATARIUM, SOEN, ex-EVERGREY),drummer Andreas "Habo" Johansson (NARNIA),as well as several guest artists.

Only 100 hand-numbered copies of THE DOOMSDAY KINGDOM "mega box set" exist, containing the following:

* Trifold album with red obi, inclusing a poster and photo/lyric sheet
* 7-inch single (one-sided): Billion Dollar Doom!
* Slipmat: purple with white logo
* Card: will give you access to a meet-and-greet with the band
* Artprint: handmade by Leif
* Lyric sheet: handwritten lyric signed by Leif
* Photo: signed by Leif (with dedication, if you want)
* CD (featuring all the THE DOOMSDAY KINGDOM album songs as demos)
* Badge
* Sticker
* Plektrum

The price of the box is €100 + international shipping €30 (including tracking number). Price for shipping within Sweden is €10.

Send a message to [email protected], including your name and e-mail address, and a box will be reserved for you and you will be given payment instructions.

Edling told the web site about THE DOOMSDAY KINGDOM's debut: "I think there are a bunch of pretty cool songs on the record and the production is great. The members play like demons and the style is in the vein of early metal, which I find very attractive — the kind of metal that I grew up with, that I love. I'm very proud of the end result."

According to Edling, Stålvind came into the picture "right in the middle of" the recording process for THE DOOMSDAY KINGDOM's album. "I wrote songs for almost a year and all the songs were almost all written when he joined," he said. "The guitars were there, the bass was there, and I think there were some drums on a few tracks. He started to do his vocal overdubs pretty much in the middle of the recording process. He did a great job, I think. He sings like a motherfucker throughout the album and I have admired his voice in WOLF for many years."

In a separate interview with Wall Of Sound, Edling spoke about the health issues that have kept him largely off the road for the past few years. "I guess it was just me being a total workaholic that brought me forward to everything that happened," he said. "I was working around the clock seven days a week and no breaks or vacation. I worked from the second I woke up and till I slept. And this was a roller coaster for so many years. It was my way of living; it was all I knew. After a while, I started to feel a lot of stress and burn-out. Sweden is the new Tokyo and we are working too much; it is not good. I hit the roof and my heart was speeding like crazy and I went to the doctors and I have been on medicine. I was collapsing and not coping with anything. I actually was thinking around this project at this time. It has been a long process and I have been totally burnt out for three years and this has taken me years to make this record and now it is a band."

Find more on Candlemass
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).