CANDLEMASS: Official Lyric Video For 'Death Thy Lover' Title Track

April 21, 2016

Legendary Swedish doom metallers CANDLEMASS will release a special 30th-anniversary EP titled "Death Thy Lover" on June 3 via Napalm. The four-track effort — which features Mats Levén on vocals — was recorded during September/October and will be made available as a four-page digipack, one-LP gatefold edition and one-LP gatefold webstore edition and old-school "skull-and-cross" slipmat. The cover artwork for the EP was created by Erik Rovanperä.

The official lyric video for the "Death Thy Lover" title track can be seen below.

Commented CANDLEMASS bassist and main songwriter Leif Edling: "We said we wouldn't record an album, but we had to release something for the 30th anniversary of CANDLEMASS, so it became this EP.

"'Death Thy Lover' is in a way a typical CANDLEMASS song and in a way not typical for us. The chorus is pretty poppy, if I can use that word — I would never have imagined I would use a term like that to describe anything CANDLEMASS — but the main riff is very metal and the opening is us going classic ANVIL."

He continued: "Our old friend and now singer Mats Levén is doing a great job on the song. He's also exactly what we needed live, and the band has became even better with him in the camp."

"Death Thy Lover" track listing:

01. Death Thy Lover
02. Sleeping Giant
03. Sinister N Sweet
04. The Goose

"The live shows we've done after 'Psalms For The Dead' (2012) have been fantastic," said CANDLEMASS guitarist Mats "Mappe" Björkman. "Mats has done a great job fronting CANDLEMASS and I don’t think we've ever been this good on stage before! Wacken, Bang Your Head!!!, Sweden Rock, Hellfest, Metal Days, Metallsvenskan, Maryland Death Fest... We have conquered them all."

Edling is slowly getting better from his chronic fatigue syndrome, and participated in the EP recordings.


Find more on Candlemass
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).