CANNIBAL CORPSE: CORPSEGRINDER-Era Albums To Be Released On Cassette

August 31, 2023

On September 15, Hells Headbangers will release on cassette tape a grand total of ten albums and one EP from the legendary death metal band CANNIBAL CORPSE. Each of these tape editions will be strictly limited to 300 copies and will feature special all-over print on the shell, making for an essential collector's item.

Since their formation in 1988, there's arguably been no band more influential and enduring than CANNIBAL CORPSE. While many of their old contemporaries have broken up or (worse) wimped out, CANNIBAL CORPSE continues to be the flagship band for the artform of true, uncompromising death metal. Amazingly, having released 16 albums to date and touring nonstop across the globe, the band are as vital now as they've ever been; rarely do you hear someone say, "I only like the early stuff" about CANNIBAL CORPSE.

With that in mind — and, of course, being longtime fans of the band — Hells Headbangers will release on limited-edition tape the following CANNIBAL CORPSE recordings, all featuring inimitable frontman George "Corpsegrinder" Fisher:

* Vile (1996)
* Gallery Of Suicide (1998)
* Bloodthirst (1999)
* Gore Obsessed (1999)
* Worm Infested EP (2003)
* The Wretched Spawn (2004)
* Kill (2006)
* Evisceration Plague (2009)
* Torture (2012)
* A Skeletal Domain (2014)
* Red Before Black (2017)

While there's undoubtedly a legion of fans of the band's Chris Barnes-fronted albums, CANNIBAL CORPSE just as undoubtedly became sicker and more lethal with Corspegrinder on the mic, dependably delivering the goods free of trends. In fact, one could say that any one of these albums served as an entry point for newer generations of death metal fanatics, thereby cementing both CANNIBAL CORPSE's legendry and influencing countless bands since.

Officially licensed from Metal Blade, Hells Headbangers is honored to make these 11 crucial cannibal corpse recordings available again on cassette tape, in a manner aesthetically pleasing to the band's gore-obsessed ways. Ordering information can be found here.

CANNIBAL CORPSE's sixteenth studio album, "Chaos Horrific", is due on September 22 via Metal Blade Records.

Since 1988, CANNIBAL CORPSE have been at the forefront of death metal, shaping and defining the genre. In 2021, they raised the stakes again with "Violence Unimagined". And in 2023, the band's thirty-fifth anniversary, they return with its successor, the equally monstrous "Chaos Horrific", starting a new chapter in their storied legacy.

Written shortly after the conclusion of the "Violence Unimagined" sessions, echoes of that album exist in "Chaos Horrific".

Guitarist Erik Rutan has now produced six CANNIBAL CORPSE albums, starting with 2006's "Kill", and this is Rutan's second release as a full-fledged member, since officially joining in 2020. Tracking at Rutan's Mana Studio in Florida, the band's home state, was comfortable for all involved, who were at the top of their game and ready to give it their all.

Photo credit: Alex Morgan

Find more on Cannibal corpse
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).