'Christmas Metal Symphony': More Video Footage Available

December 30, 2008

More fan-filmed video footage of the "Christmas Metal Symphony" show, which was held Sunday night (December 28) at 013, Tilburg, Holland, can be viewed below.

A number of high-quality photos of the concert are available at Metal-Experience.com.

The concert included appearances by such renowned hard rock and heavy metal artists as Doro Pesch, Chuck Billy (TESTAMENT),Russell Allen (SYMPHONY X),Mats Levén (THERION, YNGWIE MALMSTEEN),Johan Edlund (TIAMAT),Ian Parry (CONSORTIUM PROJECT, ELEGY),Marcela Bovio (STREAM OF PASSION, AYREON),Floor Jansen (AFTER FOREVER) and George Oosthoek (ORPHANAGE). They were backed by a six-piece band and a 30-piece classical orchestra as they performed the finest metal songs of all time. This unique show contained songs from all metal genres — from prog-metal to rock, from death to speed and from industrial to symphonic.

The backing band consisted of the following musicians:

Koen Herfst (EPICA) - Drums
Marcel Coenen (SUN CAGED) - Guitar
Johan Van Stratum (STREAM OF PASSION) - Bass
Frank Schiphorst (CONTROL HUMAN DELETE) - Guitar
Jeffrey Revet (STREAM OF PASSION) - Keyboards
Joost van den Broek (AFTER FOREVER) – Keyboards

The complete setlist was as follows:

01. Blood Of Kingu (THERION) (feat. Mats Levén, Marcela Bovio)
02. Victim Of Changes (JUDAS PRIEST) (feat. Mats Levén)
03. Son Of The Staves Of Time (THERION) (feat. Mats Levén, Marcela Bovio)
04. Passion (STREAM OF PASSION) (feat. Marcela Bovio)
05. Out In The Real World (STREAM OF PASSION) (feat. Marcela Bovio)
06. Enter Sandman (METALLICA) (feat. Ian Parry)
07. Paranoid (BLACK SABBATH) (feat. Ian Parry)
08. Breaking The Law (JUDAS PRIEST) (feat. Doro Pesch, Ian Parry)
09. All We Are (DORO) (feat. Doro Pesch, Floor Jansen)
10. I Rule The Ruins (DORO) (feat. Doro)
11. Souls Of Black (TESTAMENT) (feat. Chuck Billy)
12. Return To Serenity (TESTAMENT) (feat. Chuck Billy, Mats Levén)
13. More Than Meets The Eye (TESTAMENT) (feat. Chuck Billy, George Oosthoek)
14. Arise (SEPULTURA) (feat. George Oosthoek)
15. Mountains Of Madness (ORPHANAGE) (feat. George Oosthoek, Floor Jansen)
16. A New Level (PANTERA) (feat. George Oosthoek)
17. Cain (TIAMAT) (feat. Johan Edlund)
18. Brighter Than The Sun (TIAMAT) (feat. Johan Edlund, Marcela Bovio)
19. When The Smoke Is Going Down (SCORPIONS) (feat. Johan Edlund)
20. My Pledge Of Allegiance No. 1 (AFTER FOREVER) (feat. George Oosthoek, Floor Jansen)
21. Equally Destructive (AFTER FOREVER) (feat. Floor Jansen)
22. The Evil That Man Do (IRON MAIDEN) (feat. Floor Jansen)
23. Intro Based on "The Odyssey" (SYMPHONY X) (orchestra only)
24. Evolution (The Grand Design) (SYMPHONY X) (feat. Russell Allen)
25. Paradise Lost (SYMPHONY X) (feat. Russell Allen)
26. Dawn Of A Million Souls (AYREON) (feat. Russell Allen)
27. Phantom Of The Opera (NIGHTWISH version) (feat. Russell Allen, Floor Jansen)

"More Than Meets The Eye" (TESTAMENT) (feat. Chuck Billy, George Oosthoek):

"Victim Of Changes" (JUDAS PRIEST) (feat. Mats Levén):

"Enter Sandman" (METALLICA) (feat. Ian Parry):

"Phantom Of The Opera" (NIGHTWISH version) (feat. Russell Allen, Floor Jansen):

"Son Of The Staves Of Time" (THERION) (feat. Mats Levén, Marcela Bovio):

"The Evil That Man Do" (IRON MAIDEN) (feat. Floor Jansen):


"Breaking The Law" (JUDAS PRIEST) (feat. Doro Pesch, Ian Parry):

"All We Are" (DORO) (feat. Doro Pesch, Floor Jansen):

"Paranoid" (BLACK SABBATH) (feat. Ian Parry):

"When The Smoke Is Going Down" (SCORPIONS) (feat. Johan Edlund):

"Cain" (TIAMAT) (feat. Johan Edlund):

"Blood Of Kingu" (THERION) (feat. Mats Levén, Marcela Bovio):

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email