Cleveland Metal Bands Unite For College Radio Station Benefit

February 15, 2007

Cleveland college radio station WJCU will host a benefit concert this Saturday, February 17 to kick off their 2007 annual Radiothon fundraiser. The concert takes place at the Jigsaw Saloon in Cleveland, Ohio. Performing will be five of Cleveland's best underground metal bands — SOULLESS, GROUND ZERO, WRETCH, AT NO END and WINTERS BANE — all of whom have volunteered their time and services to help the radio station. Tickets are only $8. The show begins at 8 p.m. All proceeds will be donated to WJCU, a non-profit, non-commercial college radio station. WJCU's Radiothon runs Sunday, February 18 through Sunday, February 25. Visit for more information.

SOULLESS is finishing up work on its new album, "Forever Defiant". The CD was recorded by Ben Schigel at Spider Studios and will be mastered by Jonas Kjellgren at Black Lounge Studios in Sweden. A spring release via the Japanese label World Chaos is expected. The track listing is as follows:

01. What Remains?
02. The Price Of Life
03. The Hunt (Subtle)
04. The Devil's Hand
05. Of Liars And Thieves...
06. Betray The Light
07. D-Composition (Instrumental)
08. Prey On The Weak
09. Deadly Sins
10. To The Death
11. Dead To Me
12. Straight To Hell
13. As Darkness Dawns

The first 1,000 copies of the Japanese version will include the bonus tracks "Kill The King" (RAINBOW cover) and "Hollow Eyes".

GROUND ZERO is in the studio finishing up work on its new album, "Download Your Destruction". They currently have an EP available featuring three songs from the upcoming album: "This Means War", "Frozen Christ" and "Crush, Kill, Destroy".

WRETCH will be performing in July at the Headbanger's Open Air festival in Germany. Also scheduled to appear are CANDLEMASS, RAGE, SINNER, WOLF, MOONSORROW and MALICE. WRETCH's "Reborn" CD is currently available on Auburn Records. The band recently entered Metro Sync Studios in Cleveland with producer Don Depew (BREAKER) to record two brand new songs for an upcoming EP. In addition to the new songs, the EP will also include extra tracks from the "Reborn" sessions and previously unreleased "live" material. Shaun Vanek (ETERNAL LEGACY) recently replaced Mike Cykon on guitar.

AT NO END recently released its second CD, "Building The Rebellion".

WINTERS BANE will be making its Cleveland debut with the group's new lineup. New members include vocalist Jeff "Zaigen" Sheeler (ex-MOB SCENE),bassist Jeff Welch (KILL PROCEDURE, ex-BREAKER) and returning drummer Jeff Curenton (ex-SEVEN WITCHES, WRETCH). The band will enter the studio soon to begin recording "Heart Of A Killer - II", a continuation of the story told on their revered 1993 first album that featured Tim "Ripper" Owens on vocals.

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email