DEAD KENNEDYS' Iconic Debut 'Fresh Fruit For Rotting Vegetables' Gets Remix Treatment

July 7, 2022

DEAD KENNEDYS' classic 1980 album "Fresh Fruit For Rotting Vegetables" has been remixed from the original multitrack tapes by Chris Lord-Alge (Chaka Khan, GREEN DAY, Bruce Springsteen). The band's debut album (original release date: September 2, 1980) is politically incendiary while also wholly musically adept — provocative and often idiosyncratic agit prop lyrics bouncing off of careening, adrenaline-infused musicianship. So it's only natural that the 40th-anniversary re-release of this classic album is revisited by the Grammy-winning mix engineer Lord-Alge. "Fresh Fruit For Rotting Vegetables - 2022 Mix" will be available September 30, 2022 via Manifesto Records.

"When the label suggested we remix 'Fresh Fruit For Rotting Vegetables'," says East Bay Ray. "Klaus Fluoride [bassist] and I were skeptical, but we thought, 'Why not? Let's give it a try.' And, wow, Grammy-winning maestro Chris Lord-Alge was interested! It turns out he's a big fan of the band... We tried one song, 'Chemical Warfare'. What Chris came back with was amazing. Everyone heard the difference, so we said, 'All right, let's go!'"

This new mix, produced by Lord-Alge, lends incredible new sonic clarity to those songs.

"Revisiting 'Fresh Fruit for Rotting Vegetables' was such an inside peek at a band packing so much excitement onto tape for every song," says Lord-Alge. "The style and playing has such drive and spirit. The big challenge for me was keeping it honest to its original sound and not letting it become modern but improving the separation and clarity. A major chapter in history for DEAD KENNEDYS."

While "iconic" and "classic" has been overused to the point of being an eye-rolling cliché, "Fresh Fruit For Rotting Vegetables" is just that — a hugely influential work that created a major shift in the culture and creation of music to come. "The band's creative m.o.: left-leaning politics, mordant humor, gonzo imagery (What the hell do suede denim secret police want with your uncool niece, for Christ sake?),and muscular instrumentation. There was no other band that sounded like DKs," details Amy Linden, nationally recognized journalist and former DK tour manager. "DEAD KENNEDYS belied the mainstream narrative/falsehood that punk was more about provocation and attitude than actual skills and song craft. Which is not to say that DEAD KENNEDYS didn't have a healthy respect for provocation: this was a band not afraid to push, and even tear off, buttons."

A harsh reaction to the Reagan era in American politics, "Fresh Fruit For Rotting Vegetables" tackled capitalism (the scathing and sarcastic and "Kill The Poor"),bioterrorism ("Chemical Warfare") and even "affluenza" ("Holiday In Cambodia"). "California Über Alles" (a pointed take on the anthem of Germany which begins "Deutschland, Deutschland über alles") was a blistering satirical take on governor of California Jerry Brown (1975-1983) and "hippie fascism."

DEAD KENNEDYS' influence resounded loudly throughout punk, hardcore, metal and rock.

"If you had to define and summarize all of punk rock, in my opinion it would be the SEX PISTOLS' 'Never Mind The Bollocks', the RAMONES' 'Rocket To Russia' and DEAD KENNEDYS' 'Fresh Fruit For Rotting Vegetables'," says former MEGADETH bassist David Ellefson. "It is a slab of timeless perfection that will never be duplicated or imitated," adds Fletcher Dragge of PENNYWISE. "My education was punk rock — what the DEAD KENNEDYS said — it was attacking America, but it was America at the same time," contributes GREEN DAY's Billie Joe Armstrong. For Dave Grohl of FOO FIGHTERS, the band's impact was visceral and impactful. He remembers, "I went to the DK's 'Rock Against Reagan' show in Washington [1984]. The DEAD KENNEDYS were playing and were one of my favorite bands. There were police helicopters all over the place and buses filled up with riot police. As a thirteen-year-old kid, that was like my own little revolution."

But what matters most is the music. As historic as "Fresh Fruit For Rotting Vegetables" stands in the pantheon of music, it's the personal effect it has on the listener and how it really does stand the test of time.

"Back in the day, 'deep listening' was a part of the culture," concludes East Bay Ray. "When anyone got a new record, they sat back in a sofa or chair, album cover in hand, and just listened. Dr. Ray highly recommends this for the 2022 mix of 'Fresh Fruit For Rotting Vegetables'."

DEAD KENNEDYS lineup on "Fresh Fruit For Rotting Vegetables" is Jello Biafra (lead vocals),East Bay Ray (guitar),Klaus Fluoride (bass, backing vocals),and Ted (drums).

"Fresh Fruit For Rotting Vegetables - 2022 Mix" track listing:

01. Kill The Poor
02. Forward To Death
03. When Ya Get Drafted
04. Let's Lynch The Landlord
05. Drug Me
06. Your Emotions
07. Chemical Warfare
08. California Über Alles
09. I Kill Children
10. Stealing People's Mail
11. Funland At The Beach
12. Ill In The Head
13. Holiday In Cambodia
14. Viva Las Vegas

Find more on Dead kennedys
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).