DEATH: Remastered Demo track Posted Online

January 19, 2011

A remastered demo version of "Story To Tell" taken from the upcoming reissue of DEATH's seventh and final album, "The Sound Of Perseverance", has been posted online at this location. The track appears on the second disc of the reissue that features all previously unreleased demo material.

"The Sound Of Perseverance" will be reissued on February 15 in North America (February 21 internationally) via Relapse Records. The first in a series of official DEATH reissues slated for 2011, the LP has been remastered from the original studio tapes and expanded to include previously unreleased demo material. The reissue will also include enhanced artwork and liner notes from the original cover artist Travis Smith as well as liner notes from DEATH guitarist Shannon Hamm and never-before-seen photographs from "The Sound Of Perseverance" era. A special deluxe version of the "The Sound Of Perseverance" reissue includes a third bonus disc of unreleased material and will only be available via Relapse mailorder and digitally via iTunes.

To coincide with the reissue, Relapse mailorder will also offer a "The Sound Of Perseverance" t-shirt and zip-up hooded sweatshirt featuring the enhanced album artwork. Images of the new DEATH merchandise can be seen here.

"The Sound Of Perseverance" three-disc reissue track listing:

Disc 1

01. Scavenger Of Human Sorrow
02. Bite The Pain
03. Spirit Crusher
04. Story To Tell
05. Flesh And The Power It Holds
06. Voice Of The Soul
07. To Forgive Is To Suffer
08. A Moment Of Clarity
09. Painkiller

Disc 2

01. Spirit Crusher - 1998 Demos (No Bass)
02. Flesh And The Power It Holds - 1998 Demos (No Bass)
03. Voice Of The Soul - 1998 Demos (No Bass)
04. Bite The Pain - 1998 Demos
05. A Moment Of Clarity - 1998 Demos
06. Story To Tell - 1998 Demos
07. Scavenger Of Human Sorrow - 1998 Demos
08. Bite The Pain - 1997 Demos
09. Story To Tell - 1997 Demos
10. A Moment Of Clarity - 1997 Demos

Disc 3

01. Bite The Pain - 1996 Demos
02. Story To Tell - 1996 Demos
03. A Moment Of Clarity - 1996 Demos
04. Bite The Pain w/ Paul Payne On Vocals - 1996 Demos
05. A Moment Of Clarity w/ Paul Payne On Vocals - 1996 Demos
06. A Moment Of Clarity w/ Chuck Schuldiner On Vocals - 1996 Demos
07. Story To Tell w/ Chuck Schuldiner On Vocals - 1996 Demos
08. Bite The Pain w/ Shannon Hamm on Vocals - 1996 Demos
09. A Moment Of Clarity - 1996 Demos (Instrumental)
10. Bite The Pain - 1996 Demos (Instrumental)
11. Story To Tell - 1996 Demos (Instrumental)
12. Voice Of The Soul - 1996 Demos (Instrumental)
13. A Moment Of Clarity - 1996 Demos (Instrumental)

Guitar World magazine is currently hosting a contest in conjunction with the reissue of "The Sound Of Perseverance", offering a B.C. Rich Chuck Schuldiner tribute Stealth guitar as a prize. One of the most recognized of Chuck's guitars, this sleek neck through body, pitch-black Stealth also features jumbo frets, beveled top style, and DiMarzio X2N pickups. The contest is open to U.S. residents and ends on February 15. Complete contest rules and information can be found here.

The bulk of DEATH's catalog was made available digitally for the first time. "Scream Bloody Gore", "Leprosy", "Spiritual Healing", "Human", "Individual Thought Patterns" and "The Sound Of Perseverance" can be purchased via iTunes at this location.

Relapse recently released an expanded version of the classic debut album, "The Fragile Art Of Existence", from Schuldiner's progressive heavy metal band CONTROL DENIED. The reissue includes bonus tracks, extra band photography, expanded art and packaging and more.

A Chuck Schuldiner biography by Ian Christe — author of "Sound Of The Beast" and "Everybody Wants Some: The Van Halen Saga", and host on Sirius Satellite Radio's Hard Attack — is also being planned.

Schuldiner passed away on December 13, 2001 at age 34 after a battle with pontine glioma, a rare type of brain tumor.

New artwork:

Original artwork:

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).