DEEP PURPLE's ROGER GLOVER Says Decision To Enlist DWEEZIL ZAPPA To Remix 'Machine Head' Was 'Probably A Marketing' Idea

March 30, 2024

In a new interview with Poland's Eska Rock, DEEP PURPLE's Roger Glover was asked about the decision to enlist Dweezil Zappa, son of Frank Zappa, remix the band's iconic album "Machine Head" for the new super deluxe edition. Dweezil performed with PURPLE at the 2016 Montreux Jazz Festival in what has been described as a full-circle moment, considering that Frank Zappa is namechecked in the iconic "Machine Head" track "Smoke On The Water".

Regarding how Dweezil ended up helming the new "Machine Head" remix, Roger said (as transcribed by BLABBERMOUTH.NET): "It wasn't our choice. I mean, this was coming from the record company. The record company wanted Dweezil, because of, obviously, his father's connection. And we'd met Dweezil, I think, four or five years ago. He got on stage with us and played a couple of songs with us when we played Montreux Jazz Festival. And I didn't really get to know him much. He was just a nice chap, and he came and played guitar. That's all I remember, really, about that. And when they said that they wanted Dweezil to mix the album — well, I'd already mixed the album for the 25th anniversary, so [I said], 'Well, why do you need another remix?' But they said, no, they wanted Dweezil. I think it's probably a marketing thing. They thought it was a cool idea."

Asked how it feels to know that, after 50 years, the material from the "Machine Head" album is still loved by old fans and new generations and continuing to shape their musical tastes, Roger said: "I suppose in a word, the word that comes to mind is humbling. I'm just constantly surprised at the course of my life and our life as a band.

"Normally when you join a band in the '70s, it's gonna last a couple of years or three years, and then you're gonna lose the public and you go back to being what you were before, which is nobody," he continued. "But that didn't happen. And it's all down to the fans. What we did obviously had a lasting value. I don't know why. I feel very lucky, actually, that I never had a job, that I started in a band when I was 15 and I'm still in a band and I'm 78. It doesn't make sense to me. But I'm very happy about it."

"Machine Head: Super Deluxe Edition" was made available on March 29 as a 3-CD/LP/Blu-ray via Warner Records and Rhino Entertainment.

Highlighting the collection are several different versions of the album, including new stereo and Dolby Atmos mixes by Dweezil Zappa. The 1974 quadraphonic mix and a newly remastered version of the original album are also featured, adding depth to the extraordinary set.

The "Super Deluxe Edition" also contains two captivating live performances. The first, recorded on March 9, 1972, at the Paris Theatre in London, captures the group's unrivaled stage presence during the "Machine Head" tour. The second, previously unreleased, was recorded in April 1971 at the Montreux Casino in Switzerland. The band planned to record "Machine Head" there that December, but the venue burned down right before the sessions began, an event immortalized in "Smoke On The Water".

In the aftermath, guitarist Ritchie Blackmore, keyboardist Jon Lord, singer Ian Gillan, bassist Roger Glover and drummer Ian Paice relocated to the nearby Grand Hotel (empty for the winter season) to record the album. Despite the chaos, the band managed to create its most successful album ever, topping the U.K. album chart and cracking the Top 10 in the U.S., earning a double platinum certification in 1986.

The previously unreleased Montreux concert promises to be a highlight for fans. The audience recording covers songs the band recorded prior to "Machine Head", including "Child In Time" (from 1969's "Concerto For Group And Orchestra"),"Speed King" (from 1970's "In Rock"),and "Strange Kind Of Woman" (from 1971's "Fireball").

The new Dolby Atmos and 2024 mixes provide fresh and immersive perspectives on this classic album and were made by Zappa using the original tapes. In the liner notes, Zappa says: "It's one of those records where I think, 'How did they come up with this?' It's got classical influences in the guitar and the keyboard, but then it's got the blues and there's little bits of funkiness. And you have this singer who has the most killer voice. All these things come together in a way where it doesn't sound like commercial music, yet people got really excited about it. It's a fascinating recipe."

"Machine Head: Super Deluxe Edition" LP track listing:

LP One: Dweezil Zappa 2024 Remix

Side One

01. Highway Star
02. Maybe I'm A Leo
03. Pictures Of Home
04. Never Before

Side Two

01. Smoke On The Water
02. Lazy
03. When A Blind Man Cries – B-side
04. Space Truckin'

CD Track Listing

CD One: Dweezil Zappa 2024 Remix

01. Highway Star
02. Maybe I'm A Leo
03. Pictures Of Home
04. Never Before
05. Smoke On The Water
06. Lazy
07. Space Truckin'
08. When A Blind Man Cries – B-side

2024 Remaster

09. Highway Star
10. Maybe I'm A Leo
11. Pictures Of Home
12. Never Before
13. Smoke On The Water
14. Lazy
15. Space Truckin'

CD Two: In Concert '72

01. Introduction
02. Highway Star
03. Strange Kind Of Woman
04. Maybe I'm A Leo
05. Smoke On The Water
06. Never Before
07. Lazy
08. Space Truckin'
09. Lucille
10. Maybe I'm A Leo – soundcheck

CD Three: Montreux '71

01. Swiss Yodel *
02. Speed King *
03. Strange Kind Of Woman *
04. Into The Fire *
05. Child In Time *
06. Paint It Black *
07. Wring That Neck (Hard Road) *
08. Black Night *
09. Lucille *

Blu-ray (Audio Only)

Dweezil Zappa 2024 Atmos Remix

01. Highway Star *
02. Maybe I'm A Leo *
03. Pictures Of Home *
04. Never Before *
05. Smoke On The Water *
06. Lazy *
07. Space Truckin' *
08. When A Blind Man Cries – B-side *

1974 U.S. Quad Mix

09. Highway Star
10. Maybe I'm A Leo
11. Pictures Of Home
12. Never Before
13. Smoke On The Water
14. Lazy
15. Space Truckin'

Dolby 5.1 Surround Sound Mixes

16. When A Blind Man Cries – B-side
17. Maybe I'm A Leo
18. Lazy

* previously unreleased

Deep Purple are pleased to annouce the release of the Machine Head: Super Deluxe Edition boxset featuring new remixes,...

Posted by Deep Purple on Tuesday, February 6, 2024

Find more on Deep purple
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).