DEF LEPPARD: 'Downstage Thrust Tour' Opening-Night Setlist Revealed

June 28, 2007

DEF LEPPARD kicked off its "Downstage Thrust Tour 2007" Wednesday night (June 27) in Cincinnati, Ohio. The group's setlist was as follows:

01. Rocket
02. Animal
03. Excitable
04. Foolin'
05. Mirror, Mirror
06. Let it Go
07. Love Bites
08. Rick Savage solo
09. Rock On
10. Two Steps Behind
11. Bringin' On the Heartbreak
12. Switch 625
13. Hysteria
14. Armageddon It
15. Photograph
16. Pour Some Sugar On Me
17. Rock of Ages

Check out a review of last night's show and photos at Bring Back Glam.

DEF LEPPARD members Joe Elliott, Rick Savage and Vivian Campbell were the featured guests on the nationally syndicated radio show "Rockline" on Wednesday, June 20. The program is now available for streaming at this location.

According to The Def Leppard Satellite Of Love, DEF LEPPARD will reunite with producer Robert John "Mutt" Lange after the group's upcoming tour is over to write a few songs for the new album, "Songs from the Sparkle Lounge", it was revealed on "Rockline".

"He's very enthusiastic actually," bassist Rick Savage told the listeners of "Rockline". "He's just heard a few ideas that we had knocking around and he really wants to do a couple things with us, which is great after all this time that we've known him for him to still dig what we're doing and there still that chemistry there for future songs."

The collaboration would be the first between the band and Mutt Lange since 1999's "Euphoria" album.

According to, DEF LEPPARD is "about 85, 90 percent finished" with its next CD, which frontman Joe Elliott describes as "a very rock album."

"I'm not gonna say it's radically different to anything we've ever done," Elliott told "There's classic DEF LEPPARD. There's stuff that sounds like it's going back to the middle, late-'70s AC/DC and new wave-type sounding stuff. There's definitely some moments on it where anybody that's familiar with our music will go, 'Whoa! I wasn't expecting that!' We've just been very adventurous, musically, on certain numbers."

Elliott said the "Sparkle Lounge" album title refers to a room the group maintained backstage during its 2006 tour dates, where the musicians would congregate with co-producer and live sound technician Ronan McHugh to work up and record ideas.

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email