Demo And Rehearsal Recordings From Obscure '80s Death Metallers TERMINAL DEATH To Be Released On CD

April 16, 2014

Shadow Kingdom Records will release a CD's worth of demo and rehearsal material from obscure '80s death metal group TERMINAL DEATH on July 8. A vinyl LP version will also be made available via Hells Headbangers Records.

Based on the material, the Chicago band should have gotten high praise across the globe, but fell through the cracks without a proper record label deal. That all changes now, as fans of early SEPULTURA, DEATH and POSSESSED are in for a real treat. In addition to the remastered material, a nicely assembled CD booklet includes a detailed interview by Laurent of Snakepit magazine.

Shadow Kingdom Records owner Tim McGrogan shared these words about the release: "When you talk about the earliest death metal bands, we think of SEPULTURA, DEATH, POSSESSED (all stemming from VENOM) right off the top, but there were a few ripping bands that quickly fell into obscurity and TERMINAL DEATH is one of those bands. This is not just an obscure band; they could have been a HUGE death metal band if they were signed to the right label back then. They certainly had all of the talent of the aforementioned bands. Their 1985 demo tape screams with energy and intensity! This collection is another snapshot of that amazing early SLAYER-esque death metal. Co-founder Shaun Glass, who also co-founded SINDROME, later joined the more well-known classic death metal band BROKEN HOPE in the early 1990s. Shadow Kingdom Records also teamed up with Hells Headbangers Records to release this lost gem as a double LP. If you're into vinyl, keep your eyes peeled for it will be a glorified presentation."

Select tracks from "Terminal Death" are streaming at this location.

"Terminal Death" track listing:

Demo 1985:

01. Terminal Death
02. Judge Death
03. The Day After The End
04. Brain Tumor
05. Celestial Execution
06. Hacksaw

Rehearsal - December, 11 1985:

07. Terminal Death/Judge Death
08. Brain Tumor
09. Celestial Execution
10. Intermission
11. Hacksaw
12. The Day After The End
13. Chained To The Abyss [Unreleased]
14. Dying In The War [Unreleased]

Rehearsal - April 19, 1986:

15. Terminal Death/Judge Death
16. Brain Tumor
17. Bloody Retribution [Unreleased]
18. Hacksaw
19. The Day After The End
20. Chained To The Abyss


Find more on Terminal death
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).