October 3, 2017

Thirty-five years later, the band formed from the ashes of the SEX PISTOLS by Paul Cook and Steve Jones is back. Revitalized, re-energized and reinvigorated, THE PROFESSIONALS will release their new album, "What In The World", on October 27 via Automaton Records.

"What In The World" bristles with conviction and finds THE PROFESSIONALS on electrifying form, delivering some of the most ballsy, honest and downright brilliant songs of their career.

"We're not breaking any musical boundaries — we're doing what we do best. From the heart with energy and integrity," said the band.

Paul Cook and Paul Myers were reunited on stage touring with Vic Godard's SUBWAY SECT. There the idea sprang to revisit THE PROFESSIONALS. New frontman and guitar player Tom Spencer was invited to come to rehearsals, to sing and play guitar while Steve Jones was being lured back to the U.K. to join. As it became obvious Steve wouldn't be heading over, and with rehearsals feeling better and better, the new lineup was born.

THE PROFESSIONALS are also joined by a stellar cast of guest guitar players, including Jones (who plays on three tracks). Duff McKagan (GUNS N' ROSES),Mick Jones (THE CLASH),Phil Collen (DEF LEPPARD),Marco Pirroni (ADAM & THE ANTS),Chris McCormack (3 COLOURS RED) and Billy Duffy (THE CULT) also join the party.

"In the studio, we put the songs down as a three-piece, but what was needed was a second guitarist's mind, to come from another angle," THE PROFESSIONALS said. "Cookie dusted off his punk rock address book and made a few calls. All the guests added their own unique magic."

This energetic album features ten finely crafted songs, full of rock 'n' roll attitude — including a tribute to Lemmy and David Bowie, "Going, Going, Gone" — before closing with the Darwinian pop at world leaders, "Monkeys".

All the basic tracks were put down at Zak Starkey's studio, just outside London, and were finished at Tower Studios in Pershore. The guests recorded in various studios, both in the U.K. and the U.S.

"What In The World" was produced by Dave Draper with Paul Cook and Tom Spencer there to co-produce. The album is an aural treat, with no calculated image or reliance on nostalgia.

To celebrate the release of "What In The World", THE PROFESSIONALS will play a special headline show at London's Garage on October 28.

"We've been adding a new track or two to live shows but can't wait to try some of the other new songs," THE PROFESSIONALS said. "We're buzzing about the album, and can't wait to spread the buzz. Of course there'll be old stuff played too. We don't cover PISTOLS stuff (apart from 'Silly Thing') but as the gig's forty years to the day from 'Nevermind The Bollocks' was released, we might just add a cover or two!"

"What In The World" track listing:

01. Good Man Down (feat. Steve Jones & Billy Duffy)
02. Let Go (feat. Phil Collen)
03. Going, Going, Gone (feat. Steve Jones & Billy Duffy)
04. Extremadura (feat. Mick Jones & Victoria Liedtke)
05. Rewind (feat. Phil Collen)
06. Hats Off (feat. Duff McKagan & Chris McCormack)
07. New Generation (feat. Marco Pirroni)
08. Take Me Now (feat. Steve Jones, Billy Duffy & Marco Pirroni)
09. Bad Baby (feat. Terri Cook)
10. Monkeys (feat. Duff McKagan & Phil Collen)

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).