May 14, 2014

According to The Pulse Of Radio, PEARL JAM's Eddie Vedder, RAGE AGAINST THE MACHINE guitarist Tom Morello, AEROSMITH's Joe Perry and many other musicians and creative artists have signed a letter in favor of keeping net neutrality, the policy that makes the Internet a level playing field for all web sites. The Federal Communications Commission (FCC) is considering a change in the rules that would allow corporate behemoths like Comcast and Time Warner Cable to demand extra fees from websites for faster download speeds, potentially allowing discrimination against online content that is not able to pay for special treatment.

According to Spin, the letter reads in part, "The open Internet's impact on the creative community cannot be overstated. The Internet has enabled artists to connect directly with each other and with audiences. It has eliminated the barriers of geography and taken collaborations to new levels. And it has allowed people — not corporations — to seek out the film, music and art that moves them."

The proposed changes have already faced such backlash that FCC head Tom Wheeler — a former lobbyist for the very companies that would benefit from the changes — has been tweaking the plan in hopes of getting it approved.

A vote was scheduled to be held by the FCC commissioners on Thursday (May 15),although it could be delayed.

Other artists who have signed the letter include Neko Case, filmmaker Oliver Stone, "Avengers" star Mark Ruffalo, Jello Biafra, Kimya Dawson, FUGAZI, KRONOS QUARTET, David Lowery, OK GO, Michael Stipe of R.E.M., Jill Sobule, "Lost" star Evangeline Lilly, comedian Judah Friedlander and many more.

Independent record labels also have come out against Wheeler's reported proposal. The American Association Of Independent Music said in a May 5 FCC filing that creating fast and slow lanes for Internet use would make it harder for the labels to connect with fans.

The Future Of Music Coalition and Free Press, two nonprofit advocacy groups that organized the letter, said that Wheeler's plan would allow telecom giants "to pick winners and losers online and discriminate against online content and applications."

Wheeler has called the campaign "misinformation" and has insisted that the rule change wouldn't allow "behavior harmful to consumers or competition by limiting the openness of the Internet" and would not disadvantage the web sites that can't afford to pay extra.

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).