Ex-MEGADETH Guitarist GLEN DROVER Discusses Upcoming Solo Album In New Video Interview

February 15, 2011

Sirius XM on-air personality and MTV "Headbangers Ball" host Jose Mangin conducted an interview with former MEGADETH/KING DIAMOND guitarist Glen Drover at the Dean Guitars booth at the Anaheim Convention Center in Anaheim, California during the 2011 NAMM (National Association Of Music Merchants) show, a massive music-products convention that took place January 13-16. You can now watch the chat below.

Drover recently completed work on his debut solo album, "Metalusion", for an April 5 release via Magna Carta Records. In addition, he has put together a solo band consisting of the following musicians:

Glen Drover - Guitar
Jim Gilmour - Keyboards
Chris Sutherland - Drums
Paul Yee - Bass

"Metalusion" track listing:

01. Ground Zero
02. Frozen Dream
03. Egyptian Danza
04. Colors Of Infinity
05. Illusions Of Starlight
06. Don't Let The World
07. Mirage
08. Ascension
09. The Purple Lagoon
10. Filthy Habits

Check out audio samples at this location.

Writing on his newly launched official Facebook page, Drover states, "In December of 2007, I made one of the hardest decisions I have ever had to make in my life, which was to leave the band MEGADETH — a band that I had worked very hard with and helped bring back from the dead. Although I am very happy about what we accomplished in the four-year period I was in the band, things had changed quite a bit towards the end of my time with MEGADETH, and not necessarily for the better for me, so I handed in my resignation, so to speak.

"Shortly after a nice long break, I decided to start recording again, but wanted to try something different, which was to form a band and play all instrumental music — a task that would not be easy and would become something very challenging and fun, of course! A combination of metal, harder edge jazz fusion and prog. I contacted Chris Sutherland and shared this idea with him and he was very excited about this possibility. At that point, he recommended a friend of his to play bass, Paul Yee, and also recommended Jim Gilmour from the prog rock band SAGA, which Chris had played with for a short while.

"Not knowing how this set of musicians would sound like together, I though it would be a good idea to record three tracks — one Al Dimeola track, as well as two tracks from the awesome Jean Luc Ponty.

"I'm not sure if any of us really knew how well any of these tracks would turn out, Not knowing if we would jell properly, etc..Well, we could not be happier! That is what set the pace and the start of what I consider to be a great band of guys who are on the same page and very excited and driven to write and play the best we can.. and have fun doing things 'our way' and not following any trends!!

"This new album, coming out in the early 2011 is going to be called 'Metalusion' and was recorded sporadically over a 2-plus-year period.

"As an engineer, I worked very hard to make this album the very best production I can deliver to date! I am also very happy and honored to be playing with musicians of a very high level, as well as good people. It's something I always wanted to do and it's not something you find at the corner store. Believe me, I know.

"I hope you enjoy this album as much as we do."

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).