FAITH NO MORE: Deluxe Editions Of 'King For A Day', 'Album Of The Year' Due In September

July 25, 2016

FAITH NO MORE will release deluxe editions of "King For A Day" and "Album Of The Year" on September 9. These include new remasters of the original album, plus a bonus disc of rarities and B-sides. The reissues will be made available on 2-CD, double 180-gram heavyweight LP and digital plus streaming services.

Following the Grammy-nominated album "Angel Dust", FAITH NO MORE returned in 1995 with "King For A Day... Fool For A Lifetime". Recorded at Bearsville Studios near Woodstock, New York, it was the first without longtime guitarist Jim Martin, whose departure had an influence on the direction of the album. In the new liner notes, keyboardist Roddy Bottum writes: "As a result, we wrote and recorded some of our most radical, out-there songs, like 'Cuckoo For Caca' and 'Ugly In The Morning', some of our mellowest like 'Take This Bottle', 'Caralho Voador' and then some of our most high-drama, like 'Just A Man'."

Among the eight bonus tracks are the B-sides "Spanish Eyes" and "Absolute Zero", as well as the band's cover of the BEE GEES' "I Started A Joke", which was originally released as a b-side in 1995, and then as a single in 1998.

"King For A Day" deluxe edition track listing:

Disc 1

01. Get Out
02. Ricochet
03. Evidence
04. The Gentle Art Of Making Enemies
05. Star A.D.
06. Cuckoo For Caca
07. Caralho Voador
08. Ugly In The Morning
09. Digging The Grave
10. Take This Bottle
11. King For A Day
12. What A Day
13. The Last To Know
14. Just A Man

Disc 2

01. Evidence [Version en Español]
02. Absolute Zero
03. Greenfields
04. I Started A Joke
05. Spanish Eyes
06. I Won't Forget You
07. Hippie Jam
08. Instrumental
09. I Wanna Fuck Myself
10. Evidence [Versão em Português]
11. Digging The Grave [Live]
12. The Gentle Art Of Making Enemies [Live]
13. Interview [B-Side]

"Album Of The Year" became the first FAITH NO MORE release to feature members of the current lineup: Mike Bordin (drums),Roddy Bottum (keyboards),Billy Gould (bass),Jon Hudson (guitar),and Mike Patton (vocals). Recorded mostly in Gould's home studio, the album produced three singles: "Ashes To Ashes", "Last Cup Of Sorrow" and "Stripsearch". In the liner notes, Bottum writes: "We were definitely referencing our musical roots as well, going back to darker tones visited in 'Angel Dust'... in retrospect it feels really strong and an undeniably prolific chapter in what we ultimately set out to do."

"Album Of The Year"'s eight bonus tracks also include live versions of the album track "Collision" and the Burt Bacharach and Hal David classic "This Guy's In Love With You", plus rare mixes of "Last Cup Of Sorrow", "Pristina" and more.

"Album Of The Year" deluxe edition track listing:

Disc 1

01. Collision
02. Stripsearch
03. Last Cup Of Sorrow
04. Naked In Front Of The Computer
05. Helpless
06. Mouth To Mouth
07. Ashes To Ashes
08. She Loves Me Not
09. Got That Feeling
10. Paths Of Glory
11. Home Sick Home
12. Pristina

Disc 2

01. Pristine [Billy Gould Mix]
02. Last Cup Of Sorrow [Roli Mosimann Mix]
03. She Loves Me Not [Spinna Main Mix]
04. Ashes To Ashes [Hard Knox Alt. Mix]
05. Light Up And Let Go
06. The Big Kahuna
07. This Guy's In Love With You
08. Collision [Live]



Find more on Faith no more
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email