Former BLACK SABBATH Frontman Signs Solo Deal With MTM MUSIC

September 14, 2005

Former BLACK SABBATH frontman Tony Martin has inked a deal with MTM Music for the release of his second solo album, "Scream".

As a singer, Tony Martin has worked on many projects, including BLACK SABBATH, with whom he recorded such cult albums as "Headless Cross" and "Eternal Idol". Now he has ventured out on his own once again to become a solo artist after 10 years of laying low.

"Scream" features legendary drummer Cozy Powell (BLACK SABBATH, RAINBOW, WHITESNAKE) on "Raising Hell" as well as songwriting contributions by another SABBATH member, Geoff Nicholls.

Regarding Cozy's appearance on the CD, Martin had the following to say: "When I fronted COZY POWELL'S HAMMER, [Cozy] gave me 20 drumming tracks to write some songs with. I forgot I had them untill I found them recently in the move to my new house."

Tony has four children, all of them are musical in some way, and his youngest son, Joe Harford, joins him on his new album by contributing most of the guitars. The album was recorded at Tony's house in — believe it or not — Headless Cross! He actually lives in Headless Cross in Worcestershire England, and he has driven the neighbors insane with his music.

Commented Martin on his new solo release: "For me, it's been a huge journey to put this album together, and I'm really pleased to have MTM Music and Avalon/Marquee in Japan on the team to get it released. They are among the few that I trust to give you the full Tony Martin story.

"In almost every interview I am asked what my influences have been that make my music work. It's all here in 'Scream', and it starts here and it starts now!"

"Scream" track listing:

01. Raising Hell
02. Bitter Sweet
03. Faith In Madness
04. I'm Gonna Live Forever
05. Scream
06. Surely Love Is Dead
07. The Kids Of Today Don't Understand The Blues
08. Wherever You Go
09. Field Of Lies

The album will be released in a "Golden MTM 10-Years Anniversary Edition" in mid-November.

Tony Martin's solo debut, "Back Where I Belong", was released in 1992.

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email